Sunheart

Nov 18, 2008

OK. In the 'Edit Profile' section, when clicking on 'Delete Options', OK Cupid says that I can 'Disable' my account, in which my "account will appear deleted until (I) next login". Conversely, in the 'Feedback' section, OK Cupid ALSO says that "You cannot hide your account. Yet. Maybe in the future." So then... Can my account "appear deleted until I next login", or can I "not hide hide my account"??? Both answers appear to contradict one-another. I am excitedly happy to have met a wonderful woman here on OK Cupid, and we have decided to explore a deeper connection with each other exclusively. I wish to have my profile effectively "removed"/inactive/unviewable from OK Cupid, while still maintaining a "safety net" from which my account may be re-activated once again in future if need be. CAN I HAVE MY PROFILE "DISAPPEAR" FROM THE PUBLIC, AND YET STILL HAVE IT "RE-APPEAR" AT A LATER DATE???
51Cards

Nov 18, 2008

Would have been nice for either option to exist back when I deleted my old account.
MeghanBeres

Nov 18, 2008

Yup, if you disable it will become 'deleted' and then reappear when you next log in. We're still just updating text in a few places.
Sunheart

Nov 18, 2008

So then, how long will OK Cupid allow the profile to be "disabled" before it is permanently erased? I wouldn't want to disable it, and then return to log in again in a few months only to find that too much time had passed between log-ins. So exactly how safe and stable is the Disable feature? Again, forgive my confusion... But it seems that if I Disable my profile, I am effectively HIDING my profile, which OK Cupid says is not possible at this time.
hafrogman

Nov 18, 2008

By "Hide" they mean specifically making your profile not viewable to other users. . . but with the user still able to log in, view profiles, take tests, etc. The disable function means you aren't around.
dameonryan

Jan 8, 2009

I disabled my account, but when I later logged back in my entire "About" section was deleted. All other profile sections (quizzes, personality awards, journal, pics) remained. Is there any way to recover the old text?!
missytricky

Jan 20, 2009

dameonryan: I had the same experience. I "disabled" my account and when I logged back in my About section was all messed up. I fixed it, and a few weeks later disabled my account again for about a week. The next time I logged in all my profile sections were gone AND the About section was horked up again. Filling everything out again seems like and insane pain in the ass... Imma gonna give up for a while.
dameonryan

Jan 20, 2009

Dear Miss Trick, I think next time I'm going to copy/paste the sections into a notepad. I was meaning to re-write the whole thing anyway. This just forces the issue.
omgwtfbbqcheese

Jan 21, 2009

So is there a way to undelete a deleted profile and set it to disabled or something? I'd kind of like my old username back...
sing_le

Jan 21, 2009

One can un-disable,but not un-delete.
puka0423

Aug 23, 2013

Trying to disble my account because I met someone on the site and would like to see if we click .Having a lot of diffculty doing this. Dont rememember password so reset it but still cant get it to work. Please try and help me with this problem you keep asking for my old password but I dont rember. Please send infro to Joanne.davis007@gmail.com thanks  

Post a comment

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!