lala_1209

Dec 22, 2011

When someone adds you as their favorite what happens? Can they tell every time you are on OKC? Or is it just so you don't forget people.

SillySmartie

Dec 22, 2011

They are notified every time you log into the site.

To clarify, if you have a person marked as your favorite, when you are online, you will get a little pop up similar to the ones showing that someone is visiting your page telling you the person has logged in or that they updated their profile. Additionally, while your "favorite" is online, you will see their status of being online in the column on the left under the "people you might like" section.

lala_1209

Dec 22, 2011

Really? That's annoying. What if someone adds me as a favorite but I don't want to be their favorite.

SillySmartie

Dec 22, 2011

I'm not sure. Maybe blocking them would prevent that? I don't really like the favorites. It feels kinda stalkerish to me. I only have one person on favorites and that's because we're platonic friends and he doesn't have fb so we chat here when we're both on. 

 

<People can also add you as a favorite and not notify you... The only way you'd know I guess is if they kept popping up to IM you whenever you're online or something.>

ok_stoopidcupid

Dec 22, 2011

^^ If you have a hard time handling just that, you're probably not cut out for online dating.

ra-thesungod

Dec 22, 2011

They only get a notification when you log in if you leave IM on. Blocking them doesn't do anything except not let them send you messages, they can still see you after you log in but it won't notify them when you log in.

What okstoopidcupid said too.

sfguyyy

Dec 22, 2011

Actually "hiding" a profile does more than hide them these days, it actually stops their profile from being presented or 'suggested' in various areas in the site, and takes them out of match search results too.

You can't completely prevent a person from viewing your profile if they navigate to it and choose to look at (with one special, narrow exception), so like okstoopidcupid said, being on a website designed to present your profile and images to the public is kinda silly if you want to hide from people.

(In particular on a site like OkCupid that is free of charge and allows anyone to sign up very easily, even if you truly could block someone from viewing your profile, it would take them all of 60 seconds - if they were so inclined - to create another profile to immediately circumvent that block. Ergo, really kind of pointless to join a site like this and expect to be able to 'hide' from people.)

 

SeekAdventure25

Dec 22, 2011

What if someone adds me as a favorite but I don't want to be their favorite.

You grow up, become an adult, realize that not everything needs to be in your control, and then you go on with your life, making it fun and interesting and not wasting vaulable time worrying about if someone saved your profile as a "favorite" on a silly dating website.

lala_1209

Dec 23, 2011

Wow, I had no idea people would respond in a pissed off way. lol. I just think it's annoying if creepy people I'm not interested can see every time I log in. I was married for 8 years so sorry, the online dating is new to me. Forgive me. And thank you for your feedback. Oh, and to clarify, I'm not trying to hide from people. 

Bicyclepeddle

Dec 24, 2011

^ But to everyone's point, just because someone adds you as a favorite it does not make them a creeper. And not to burst your bubble, but like most women on this site, the majority of men that you see or pop up will not interest you. But hopefully the ones you're interested in you'll message first. 

Sometimes I add women to my favorites (I don't let them know) because their profile interested me...but, I just can't think of anything creative to say. When I do, I can find them easier and send them a message. 

 

enigmatickle

Jan 6, 2013

I understand all this has changed, sorry if this is repeated somewhere else but I'm not 100% clear. There's no button to choose either "let them know" or "not know" now . When you favorite someone are they notified? Like Bicyclepeddle, I use that feature to keep track of profiles that interest me but I might not be ready to message. I'd hate to appear as a stalker! Anyone?

beingme22

Jan 6, 2013

I used to favorite people, but now I just add one star for "not interested" and 3-5 if I am. If I become friends with someone I might favorite that person just like I would add someone as a friend on fb. However, I don't see much use to it beyond that.

My old favs still pop up from time to time, but I could care less. I'm just too lazy to go take them off of my favs list ;) There are other sites you can go to that don't give notifications as to when a favorite is online. I would suggest you keep browsing to see which online dating site you like the most.

beingme22

Jan 6, 2013

I used to favorite people, but now I just add one star for "not interested" and 3-5 if I am. If I become friends with someone I might favorite that person just like I would add someone as a friend on fb. However, I don't see much use to it beyond that.

My old favs still pop up from time to time, but I could care less. I'm just too lazy to go take them off of my favs list ;) There are other sites you can go to that don't give notifications as to when a favorite is online. I would suggest you keep browsing to see which online dating site you like the most.

SillySmartie

Jan 6, 2013

When you favorite someone are they notified? 

Not anymore. They won't know you've favorited them. These days, I use favorites for people I talk to on the forums and journals. I don't use it for people I am interested in dating. If you favorite someone, the rest works the same, you get a notification when they're online, you see them online in the left hand bar, if their IM is on, you'll see their IM bubble active. I get the want to go back to message thing, I usually just try to remember the username. I wish we were able to see who we recently visited for those purposes. 

corn_dog_soup

Jan 6, 2013

^^^ There is no longer an option to let the other person know that you favorited them.  It is completely anonymous.  I have no idea why so many folks get worked up over the idea that some person has bookmarked their profile.  I don't message first as a general rule, but do bookmark women who interest me so that I can go back and send off a message if I actually do get the notion. 

pinktonails

Feb 7

There are profiles which I did not rate that are showing up as though I rated them. How do I get rid of these from my site? Does this mean my profile is hacked?

DiscoJer

Feb 7

Do you mean favorites? (Which this thread is about, BTW)

http://www.okcupid.com/favorites

Or simply people you've rated highly ("Who You Like")? They recently changed the "Who You Like" from 4/5 stars to only 3, so it shows a lot of people you probably don't ever remember rating, since you probably gave them a 3 because they were "meh" (to use OKCupid own term, actually)

Thisinfinitejest

Aug 22

If you save someone as a favorite but then can't see them on your fav's list ? have they blocked you ?

 

 

Post a comment