helenaTi

Mar 16, 2010

While being distracted by IMs from people I don't want to talk to, I inadvertently deleted the very long string of messages between myself and someone I actually DO want to talk to. It has also disappeared from my "sent" box through this action. Is there any way to recover this or am I SOL?

AlCappuccino

Mar 16, 2010

Unfortunately, it's gone and you're SOL.  Happened to me once also a short while back.

TomWaitsforNoOne

Mar 19, 2010

Holy crap, I just did this too.

 

Dear OkCupid,

 

Please make a way to recover, even if only for a moment, a deleted string of messages containing important stuff.

 

Love,

Me

GoodJames

Jun 3, 2010

OkCupid,

When you have an iTouch/iPhone app, you need to have at least a confirmation button for actions because scrolling with a thumb is sometimes registered as a click. While to reading a message from a woman I have found profoundly interesting, it just disappeared without any indication of what happened when I scrolled to the next paragraph. I figured it out when I deleted an e-mail from someone else and saw it was a no-remorse execution style. Not having a temporary deleted message folder in the case of accidental deletions is preposterous. Every social network has one.


Now imagine if I accidentally clicked "block".

miks1101

Jul 7, 2010

Agreed. The iPhone app in particular is really easy to do this in.

Professor712

Jul 7, 2010

miks1101 and GoodJames go to the "send us feedback" button and click on it at the bottom of the screen and detail your concerns. OKC staff reads these and listens, but don't expect a response due to sheer volume of messages per day and limitations on staff. For this kind of issue...It is possible it could of just slipped by them by accident or they are working on the issue currently and they haven't figured out a good solution for it yet. Feel free to suggest a good idea for the confirmation button like location of where it should show to improve user friendly operation.

solidclouds

Jul 31, 2012

I sent feedback,

and I did so when this happened to me last fall. No one ever got back to me.  I dont see how this can "slip by" when SO MANY PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THE SAME THING. 

Its clearly a recurrent problem. Im so angry. 

sweet_death

Aug 3, 2012

I sent the best message that has ever been sent in the history of the Internet.  I wanted to keep it to show my Grandchildren, and possibly frame and send to the Smithsonian.  However, since there is the annoying 300 msg limit, I was cleaning up and accidentally deleted it.  Because of OKCupid's policies I was forced to sacrifice a goat.

How many more goats must die before OKCupid decides to follow standard database procedure of flagging the "hidden" column temporarily instead of actually purging data? 

evsolution

Sep 17, 2012

this happened to me too. I got a message checked it. I guess I had a bad connection or something. I go back on the computer and the whole thread is gone!

 

It ok if it happened to someone i actually didn't care about

OscarDorian

Sep 23, 2012

If you delete a message and it's no longer in the sent box, is it still guaranteed to have sent?

sfguyyy

Sep 23, 2012

 

If you delete a message and it's no longer in the sent box, is it still guaranteed to have sent?

 

There is no 'guarantee' of being sent - ie in certain cases, like the user has blocked you or they deleted/disabled their account, the message will not be received.

In general, if you get the notification about 'message sent', and later delete the message, it will not affect the delivery of that message.

 

 

MsOtis

Sep 24, 2012

I'm not sure if this is definite - maybe we can test - but I deleted a long string of messages, thinking the conversation was finished and I had no need to save the messages.

Then, a few days later, I was messaged by the same person and he added his new message to the bottom of the string of messages which I had already deleted.  The entire string of messages reappeared!

I think the system treats it as 'one file', so that either person sending a new message (an addition to the file) will cause the entire string of messages (the file) to be resent and reappear in your Inbox.

Like I said, I'm pretty sure this is the case. Sfguyyy, try sending me an additional message attached to a previous PM to me, and I'll be sure.

What this would mean is that, if you are comfortable with the person who you originally had the long set of messaging with, write them and ask them to add a message to the bottom of that string and re-send to you, and you should have all those messages back again!

-MsOtis

sfguyyy

Sep 24, 2012

In my experience, if I delete a 'conversation', then the same person adds a new reply to the previously deleted conversation, all I see is their latest reply.

 

MsOtis

Oct 2, 2012

^ perhaps.

But I say, give it a try. Add on to your last message to me, and send it. 

SethinSD

Apr 15, 2013

For some reason when I receive 2 messages from the same person, I am only receiving the second one.... why is this? The first one seems to be deleted somehow

sfguyyy

Apr 24, 2013

 

SethinSD  wrote:

For some reason when I receive 2 messages from the same person, I am only receiving the second one.... why is this? The first one seems to be deleted somehow

 

 

Are you sure it didn't become part of the "conversation" with the 2nd message, appearing just above it?

 

 

walterb92

Feb 1

My account got hacked recently and whoever did it erased everything thankfully I was to go in there and change it back. But they deleted all my messages conversations and I have no idea if anything was said to that person prior to the conversation being deleted.  

mariava212

Mar 15

I had something weird recently happened (and sorry if this has come up can't locate) but I had a message that was in my inbox that went away (thought maybe i had deleted it by accident) but then reappeared days after. Did this person block and unblock me?

mariava212

Mar 15

I had something weird recently happened (and sorry if this has come up can't locate) but I had a message that was in my inbox that went away (thought maybe i had deleted it by accident) but then reappeared days after. Did this person block and unblock me?

Post a comment