pepperwings

Oct 29, 2009

So, if you've blocked a user, and they are consistently showing up in your updates on the home screen....are they not blocked? Or ...what is that? 

joemcgill

Oct 29, 2009

As far as I understand, you can only block them from sending you messages. If you view their profile and click on "Hide", they won't show up in any searches. The trouble with that is, then they see that you have viewed their profile (visitor), which may lead them to think that you're interested.

It's all just one perpetual silly merry-go-round.

Sometimes, not-so-merry.

dj_thirtytwo

Oct 29, 2009

y would ne one want to block anyone

Curulan

Oct 29, 2009

Because some people are jerks and refuse to take the hint when you say you're not interested in them.

sfguyyy

Oct 29, 2009

FYI, you no longer have to visit someone's profile to block or hide them.

You can block them directly from an email message or an IM session, or when moderating a comment they made on your journal.  AND you can now block or hide them by simply entering their name.

Remember: you want to block if you want to prevent them from communicating with you, and hide if you no longer want to see them show up on your homescreen, or in match searches, quiver, etc.  The 2 features are independent.

To block a person from emailing or IM'ing you by username, go to the Settings page (link in left margin), click the "Messages" or "IMs" link/tab at the top, then click the "Blacklist options" on the right side.  Enter username, then make sure you CLICK the big green "Save" button.  You will need to do this separately for IMs and emails.

To hide a person by username, go to the "MATCHES" tab at the very top of any page, then click the "Dead to Me" link at the bottom of that dropdown list.  On that page you will see a box on the right side where you can enter a name to "hide".  Make sure to click the "Hide User" button to save the setting.

 

 

sfguyyy_faq  sfguyyy_faq_blocking

jd219

Oct 31, 2009

They should make it so we can hide ourselves from others. 

It would be as if my profile doesn't exist anymore when that person does a search. 

sfguyyy

Nov 1, 2009

jd219:  There is a whole boatload of reasons why that would be a really bad idea.

In short: it destroys the community by allowing everyone to selectively wall themselves off from everyone else.  It also subverts people's ability to know about those who are being troublemakers around the site.  Bad bad bad bad.

jazzbo02

Nov 19, 2009

Thus sayeth: sfguyyy

Oct. 29

"FYI, you no longer have to visit someone's profile to block or hide them... and hide if you no longer want to see them show up on your homescreen, or in match searches, quiver, etc."(Blockquote wigout)

If this is true then methinks I doth foundeth a bug.  I hid someone a week ago(a remainder of the Pakistan incident), today they were in my Quiver.  Their profile/homepage showed the SHOW button.  What's the buzz?

sfguyyy

Nov 19, 2009

Good question.  I would send the staff a feedback (link at bottom of any page) and submit that as a possible bug.

Quiver and some of the other homescreen stuff sometimes will automatically expand the parameters given in "What I Want" if you have a very small number of matching profiles (to prevent empty Quiver, "matches you might like" etc), but I wouldn't think it should normally ignore a hidden flag.

 

sfguyyy

Nov 19, 2009

FYI: OkCupid, in their progressive smoothing-over of their traditional edgy humor, has now given the complete boot to any reference to "Dead to Me" (as mentioned in my first post in this topic), and that menu item under "Matches" formerly called "Dead to Me", is now called "Hidden Users".

 

pepperwings

Nov 22, 2009

But...I LIKE the edgy humor, it's part of the reason the site is as cool as it is. Bah

sfguyyy

Nov 22, 2009

You're not the only one who feels that way, pepperwings.  Although I think some people are truly offended by things like "dead to me" (ie people who just had a friend pass away who was on OkCupid probably wouldn't be too happy to read that every day) or a lot of women who complained when OkCupid came out with the "stalker" feature.

If you want to have your stalkers back, you can always install GenericMale's fancypants Firefox script that, among many other features, allows you to rename "visitors" back to "stalkers".  :-)

jazzbo02

Nov 22, 2009

bug submitted.

beastlyboi

Mar 19, 2010

Re: JD219's post from October -

I'm wondering if someone found a way to do this. A person who had a very high match % to me (mid-90s) used to show up all the time in my top 3 match search results and now doesn't show up at all no matter what search settings I use. I know the person still has a profile here and still has the same searchable details, but now never shows up when I do a normal match search. (I *can* find the person by searching in other ways).

So, I'm wondering if there was some way they were able to remove themselves from showing up in searches...

sfguyyy

Mar 19, 2010

You could have accidentally marked that profile "hidden".

Otherwise, much to the consternation of some people, one cannot selectively block other users from viewing your profile here.

 

beastlyboi

Mar 19, 2010

Ooh, that's a possibility.. might have misclicked when I wanted to enter a note. I'll look into that. Thanks.

beastlyboi

Mar 20, 2010

Nope, user not hidden. I can still view the profile by searching for user name directly and I can still send messages, but she does not show up when I try to search for matches...

Hmm, this just in: Something is going on because she does show up in match searches, but only if I sort by Enemy% and then go to the last page because our Enemy% is only 3-5..

 

This isn't causing me any real difficulty, I just thought it an odd thing to happen all the sudden and I wondered if there was something that might have caused it.

AllPraiseBob

Mar 20, 2010

Hmm... to clarify further. You are NOT notified if you message someone that has blocked you, that you have been blocked? As in, the message just drifts off into the digital aether? Secondly, whilst randomly perusing profiles I came across one that liked similar books so I dashed off a message with some recommendations even though I was warned I did not meet said users "filter". Upon checking my Sent messages, said message was not present. Is this correct behavior or what? Tangentially, I have been having problems posting, updating and messaging here ever since upgrading to Firefox 3.6.... About ready to unload a can o' whoop-ass on ol' foxy.

 

sfguyyy

Mar 20, 2010

 

AllPraiseBob:  You are NOT notified if you message someone that has blocked you, that you have been blocked? As in, the message just drifts off into the digital aether?

 

That is correct.  There is actually a good reason for that.

 

...so I dashed off a message [...] even though I was warned I did not meet said users "filter". Upon checking my Sent messages, said message was not present. Is this correct behavior or what?

 

I wouldn't think so, although I can't say for sure.  (I don't personally make a habit of intentionally emailing people that don't want to hear from me, so I don't have a base of knowledge on such things.) You could use the feedback link at the bottom of the page to report this to the site admins.

Re: Firefox 3.6, I doubt that is the problem, as Firefox is probably the most-tested browser on this site by the people that code it.

More likely it is just the general malaise that has been afflicting server responsiveness lately.  I've had a lot of issues with lagging responses to HTTP requests over the past couple of days.

 

 

 

Professor712

Mar 20, 2010

sfguyyy, there is a small often forgotten thing that makes blocks don't appear to work. You have to block that person in messages; then delete all messages from that person. For some reason if you don't delete the messages..apparently the system thinks you still want them to come through. Every person so far I know of who blocked someone and then deleted all their messages hasn't ever received a message from the blocked person. Just a little thing you might want to be aware of.

Why would a message that is blocked drift without notify said blocked person? I picture that actually would get people to think twice before being a creep.

Post a comment