Changing Your Settings
Most account options can be found on the Settings page, including these:
- Your password
- Your e-mail address and notification preferences
- Your privacy settings, including Visitors page settings and enabling anonymous browsing
- and other settings...
Subscribing To / Unsubscribing From Our Emails
To change your email settings, go to the Settings page. From this page you can update your email address and set when you want to receive emails from us.
Changing Your Username
A-List members can change their username. Learn more about this privilege and other A-List extras.
You can also delete your account on the Settings page, which will free up your e-mail address. You can then create a new account with a new name.
You can cancel your A-List plan by going to the Settings page. Look on the right side bar for the option to cancel your subscription, or delete your saved billing information.
Deleting Your Account
If you don’t want to be a part of OkCupid anymore, we’re sorry to see you go. Visit your Settings page to close out your account.
While this will free up your e-mail address, it will not free up your screen name. We don’t want someone else (including you) registering a new account under that name and causing confusion.
Note that deleting your account is permanent and irreversible, so make sure you know what you’re doing! If you'd only like to temporarily deactivate your account, don't delete it! See below for more information.
Disabling Your Account
If you disable your account, your profile will be removed from the site and you’ll stop receiving emails from us. You can sign in at any time to completely restore your account.
First, make sure your computer’s clock is correct. This is by far the most common cause of problems. Once your clock displays the correct time, try signing in again.
Problems occur sometimes if many different people sign in to their accounts from a single machine. In this case, clearing your web browser's cache may remedy the problem.
If you’ve plum forgot your password, you can have it re-sent to the email address we have on record.