Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ÆliusLampridius

27 M Dayton, OH

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 5:26pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Sometimes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$30,000–$40,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Latin (Fluently), Ancient Greek (Okay), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
It's dangerous to go alone!

I'm a Dayton native who's just moved back after five years of purgatory in Gainesville, Florida! I got my PhD, though, so I guess it was worth it. Eventually I want to move to a big city and teach Latin at a nice high school.

In the meantime, though, I want to meet whatever cool people are in Dayton; make new friends, what-have-you.
What I’m doing with my life
I successfully defended my dissertation on 'Satire in the Historia Augusta' (my screen-name has to do with it, SO MANY bonus points that you can't even imagine if you know the reference!), so now I'm Dr. Shawniels!

That said, ivory tower academia is no longer the driving force in my life. I'm really passionate about teaching and love to explore new hobbies (including theatre, homebrewing, baking,crocheting, and programming). I'm crocheting a Doctor Who scarf right now!

I'm working as a library assistant! I get to do a little bit of everything, from answering phones and fixing copiers to proof-reading student papers and re-learning Algebra! It's at a for-profit, but don't hold that against me.

I have cats, and will tell you stories about them if you ask.
I’m really good at
Random shit. I'm excellent at Latin and good at crocheting. I'm currently learning / relearning / preparing to dive into: C++, Algebra, Ancient Greek, German, guitar, brewing, model building, woodworking, and knitting.

Also, I can drive stick.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes? My beard? The crochet hook and yarn I probably have in my hands?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Science fiction, Tolkien, Robert Heinlein, Harlan Ellison, Hunter S. Thompson, George R.R. Martin, Neil Gaiman, The Watchmen. And stuff in Latin and Greek, I guess :)

Movies: Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Office Space, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou

TV: Daily Show, Colbert Report, South Park, Archer, Bob's Burgers, Adventure Time, Steven Universe

Music: of Montreal, MGMT, Tom Waits, Regina Spektor, Gorillaz, Florence + the Machine, Amanda Palmer, The Blow

Food: Pizza, Rice, Beans, Pesto, Pita, Hummus. Whatever I can stuff in a crock pot. Vinegar. Seriously, I LOVE vinegar.

There's more, but I doubt anyone wants to (or even would) read a comprehensive list of the foods I eat or the TV I watch. If you are interested... I'm sorry?
The six things I could never do without
Things
Res
Sachen
Choses
Πράγματα
Learning
I spend a lot of time thinking about
... how depressing potatoes are, if you really think about it.
On a typical Friday night I am
Drinking, playing video games, working on a hobby... often all three.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
... the idea of staying in, drinking beers, working on hobbies / crafts, and watching cartoons with someone else sounds appealing.

... you know of / are intrigued by the Tumblr blog "Boys with Beards with Cats."

... you can quote the Orson Welles bits from "The Critic." I'll give you my phone number if you can do the voice!

... you know of awesome places to check out in and around Dayton. I've been gone for five years, so it's new to me!