Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

-jayferd

27 M Berkeley, CA

I’m looking for

  • Guys and girls who like bi guys
  • Ages 23–30
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating, casual sex

My Details

Last Online
Jun 7
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
Height
Body Type
Diet
Strictly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, and very serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Sign Language (Poorly), Norwegian (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I try to cultivate patience, loyalty, and thoughtfulness. I love to smile. I tell a lot of silly jokes. I identify as genderqueer, and I start feeling off if I'm stuck in boymode too long.

Strong, deep connections are the best, so I really appreciate emotional presence, and relationships based on intense honesty.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
In general, I'm in a "trying new things to see if they fit" phase. Here are few of the things I'm doing:

* Working for GoodGuide as a professional programming-languages propeller-hat

* Trying to start a band - current working name is Suspicious Package and the Unknown Individuals.

* Meditating - I practice passage meditation.

* Living in a community! I live with the Conspiracy of Sharing, a small community in south Berkeley, where we organize gift-economy rent and food, make useful stuff for our neighbors, and last summer organized a nonviolence immersion program in collaboration with Nonviolence Lab.

* Climbing

* Clubbing in the Castro every once in a while
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
+ Programming
+ Music
+ Abstract math and theoretical computer science, in particular type theory and programming languages
+ Listening
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm constantly drumming on things, and am easily distracted by ambient music.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I've been on an Ursula LeGuin kick for a while, and I've loved basically everything I've read - my favorites so far have been Always Coming Home and Changing Planes (a collection of short stories). I also loved Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.

For nonfiction reading, I've been reading everything I can find by Riki Wilchins, the latest being "Gender Theory, Queer Theory". I've been putting off reading David Graeber's "Direct Action".

Movies: Best In Show, Waiting For Guffman, A Mighty Wind, et al are all old favorites. Everyone I know thought Napoleon Dynamite was dumb, but I literally fell out of my chair laughing at the movie theater, and everyone looked at me sideways. Gandhi (the movie) is always inspiring, although I have to get up and go somewhere else for the Amritsar massacre scene. I don't do well with violence in media in general - sometimes I feel like I'm the only one properly freaked out by it.

Music: As a musician, I'm sort of all over the map. I tend to like things that cross and combine genres in surprising ways. There are only a few albums I keep coming back to, among which are Stevie Wonder's "Songs in the Key of Life", Steely Dan's "Gaucho", and Abbey Road. I recently discovered Ayla Nereo, and her collaboration project Wildlight. I much prefer the long-form album to Pandora or other internet radio.

Webcomics: I regularly read Gunnerkrigg court, Dr. McNinja, Bad Machinery, and T.J. and Amal. If you haven't seen T.J. and Amal yet, I highly recommend it (be warned that it is occasionally NSFW)

Food: Locally grown, organic, tasty, and prepared and shared with good friends. It's pretty hard to beat that. I have a very improvisatory "well, what's in the kitchen?" style of cooking, which I find super fun.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
+ My community :). Seriously, these folks are closer to me than my family.
+ My spiritual practice
+ A reason for doing the things I'm doing
+ Music
+ An active social life
+ Hugs
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
+ Nonviolence and spirituality
+ Community living, spirituality
+ Gender
+ Relationshipology
+ Programming languages (type systems, expressiveness, parsing, etc)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Playing board games, talking about life, and staying up way too late with friends from the CSUA.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've read the entire archives of both QC and QP.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
+ If your idea of a party is a night of drinking and board games
+ If you've heard of Hindley-Milner type inference
+ If you know a fun, nerdy game I might not have tried yet
+ If you live in a community too
+ If you're already against the next war

I'm not interested in a monogamous Relationship right now. I'm sort of just breaking into the poly scene, and I'd like to keep things relatively casual for right now. I want a (small r) relationship where we can talk about stuff that matters to us, hold and be held, support and be supported.

I'm also not very good at Conversations on the Internet, so I'm totally happy to meet up face-to-face around Berkeley or SF.