Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

1010110010

31 New York, NY Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 21–32
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Nov 23
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White, Other
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Vegan
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Other (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
So according to the personality assessment I completed for work, people like me “value intelligence, knowledge, and competence, and typically have high standards in those regards, which they continuously strive to fulfill. To a somewhat lesser extent, they have similar expectations of others.”

I’d say that’s about right. As for my chances of fulfilling those expectations on an online dating site, I’m not too sure, but what can you do. (By the way, I think I’ve noticed a trend on this site: I, too, enjoy long walks on the beach.)

In addition to intelligence and competence, there are several other qualities I appreciate in women. I won’t go into too much detail (you can probably speculate as to some of them). But in general, I’m drawn to women who are down-to-earth, authentic, and bring some compassion to the dinner table. I’ve been vegan for about 12 years, and ideally I’d like to find someone who’s not interested in cooking and eating my cat or similar sentient beings.

I’m pretty philosophical by nature, just self-destructive enough to keep things interesting. My “plan” for after college was to read poetry all day long and somehow find a way to get paid for it. Inexplicably, that didn’t end up happening. I now work in data processing (which fits my “scientist” personality type), and I actually enjoy it.

Another plus is that my job allowed me to buy my own place last year (I don’t know that reading sonnets would have gotten me there). So yes, I’m a homeowner. It’s pretty cool.

But I still read lots of poetry. In parks if possible.

And by the way, the username – not deliberate. I was just mashing 1s and 0s. I now realize that there's another 1010110010, on Slashdot. This 1010110010 isn't me. I'm far more interesting.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
In addition to working at my sexy data processing job, I spend a lot of time meeting the incessant demands of my cat, Emily. I’ve proven beyond any doubt that I can handle a high-maintenance female. When my feline companion allows me to leave my apartment, I also enjoy hiking.

By the way, when I say I enjoy hiking, I mean that I actually GO hiking. I’ve found that a lot of people who claim to be interested in hiking haven’t actually climbed a mountain (or hill) in recent history. I prefer to actually do the things I like to do.

I’m also active in the animal rights community and engage in my fair share of activism. I’ve thus far managed to avoid arrest. Fingers crossed . . .
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Identifying (and making) obscure Kaurismaki film references. Planning. Showing up. Troubleshooting nerdy problems. Listening. Not talking. Entertaining my cat.

I’m also learning how to whistle. I got a book on it. My interlibrary loan list is always set at the maximum. I have a background in library science, and English before that, so I read real good.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
People tend to think I look Irish, which I am partly.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Music: My taste tends to be eclectic. Music is pretty personal to me. I get excited by unusual sounds and influences. Recently -- Raymond Scott, Morton Subotnick, Gilberto Gil, Steve Reich, the Monochrome Set, the Cocteau Twins, the Smiths. Laurie Spiegel. I also have a thing for opera and Italian disco.

Food: Longtime vegan (12 years).

Movies: I've been on an Ingmar Bergman kick for the past few months. His movies are stunning. UPDATE: I've moved on to Pedro Almodovar.

TV: I generally don't care much for TV shows, so I don't own a TV. Exception for Peep Show (a British comedy with which I identify maybe a little too much).

Books: Generally non-fiction, with extra points for literary non-fiction. Currently working through David Graeber's "Debt."
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My cat, Emily, is the main one. Seems like a lot of people list coffee, which I like, I guess.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
You guessed it – my cat. Data processing. Poetry. How’s that for a sexy combination? I also think constantly about notes to take and connections between ideas. I’m very calendar-oriented. I have spreadsheets running in my head, no kidding.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
The possibilities are limitless. Well not really. Generally I can be found somewhere between downtown Manhattan, where I work, and uptown, where I live. Likely ingesting music/ film with glass of cabernet in hand. Bowie albums often feature prominently in my Friday nights.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'd rather take the real-world route. I hope I have inserted some good keywords, but there is more to a man than the text he types. BONUS: I have a several port-wine birthmarks on the back of my left leg, I imagine they look like a series of continents.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You live deliberately and seek someone who does the same. An affinity for cute, deceptively sensitive metro-nerdy types is a plus. I am also accepting revelatory messages.