Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

1chattydude

48 M San Francisco, CA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Taurus, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Dropped out of Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Speaks
English, Spanish (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I am grateful that my life affords me opportunities to grow as a person, and travel like a rock star (even if it be primarily on behalf of the global education non-profit I work for). My past informs my now, but no longer defines it. I've been a Catholic seminarian (studied for the priesthood), a high school English teacher (you know, that 'cool' one...the who actually listened to what you said, the one who was in a band and had an Iggy Pop 'Blah, Blah, Blah' poster in his classroom -- 15 years, having taught in FLA, NYC, and SF, and suitably scarred), a band leader, a record label, and, now, a single father of two young children, a writer, and person who's undergoing a physical and spiritual transformation. I don't wish to bore you herein, but if you want to read about the latter (and see shirtless selfie pics in the process) see:
http://www.cubancowboys.com/blog/2013/11/27/i-like-your-boobs-daddy
I'm self-aware, irreverent, emotionally available, funny as fuck, happy as all git out about my life, and love doing my best to be present and serve. In the past year alone I've been to Morocco, Spain, Kuwait, the UAE, and will be heading to Bangkok and Istanbul soon, so my journey has been as geographic and cross-cultural as it has been spiritual. Indeed, there are times when I believe there's little to no difference between the two.
I'm a creature of detail and nuance, with a photographic memory and the capacity to know that the universe does not revolve around me, that my thoughts and emotions aren't necessarily my friends, but that I should do my best to treat them and myself with loving kindness -- so that I may do so with others.
Who are you? How do you love? I want to know. I'm curious.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm striving for balance, as a single dad, artist, professional, and working hard to save the world one kid at a time.
I’m really good at
Whipsmart, funny, and witty-as-all-get-out banter, being a father, blending and bending high-brow with low-brow humor, listening, writing songs, being sensitive to others' needs, coming up with crazed but effective marketing ideas, self-promotional whoredom, public speaking, designated driving, lighting up a room, and rocking...in no particular order.
The first things people usually notice about me
My energy...usually taking the form of enthusiasm and/or playfulness
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Whatever I'm reading typically becomes my favorite book, until the next one comes along, sooooo, for now, I'll just identify my fave contemporary authors as Franzen, Rushdie, Coelho, and Junot Diaz. Of movies: I tend toward the low-brow, comedically and otherwise. Música? Pixies, Tom Waits, Public Enemy, Beny Moré, The Cuban Cowboys (that's, um, my band), Blonde Redhead, Calexico, The Apache Relay, The Jam, Squeeze, Mark Ribot, Wilco, David Garza, Flobots, Eels, Nick Waterhouse, Jimmy Reed, The Clash, Jonathan Richman, Old 97's, Weezer, The Smiths, Yerba Buena, Jay-Z (pre-Beyoncé)...happily, all over the map.
The six things I could never do without
1. My children (5 yr. old daughter, 8 yr. old son)
2. Coffee
3. NYT crossword puzzles & Sunday edition wedding announcements (go figs on the latter)
4. iPhone
5. Good stories...living them, sharing them
6. Laughter, laughter, laughter
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The best way(s) to find one of the following three in everything that I do: Love, Gratitude, and Service.
On a typical Friday night I am
If my kids are with me: passing out at 8:30 pm (while putting them to bed).
If my kids aren't with me: you tell me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I ate play-doh as a booger substitute when I was a little kid.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 30–50
  • Near me
  • For new friends
You should message me if
-- you find me interesting
-- you're ok with me having kids (note: I'm not looking for a mom for them [or me!], they've already got a great one:)
-- you're flexible schedule-wise
-- you want to laugh while enjoying good conversation