Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

2Atmosphere

58 M Cary, NC

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'd like to meet a woman who enjoys both ideas and intimacy. I like someone who thinks for herself, expresses her ideas, and expects to benefit from sharing thoughts. I admire anyone who is aware of how many possibilities for varying life-choices we have in our society, is dissatisfied with simplistic roles, and can successfully live an original life. This does not have to be bohemian or radical - being consistently kind is rare enough.

I like to balance an intellectual and analytical approach with an awareness of human experience and feelings. My sense of humor is sometimes very dry and ironic, and sometimes silly - I like everything from Aristophanes to Airplane, Bocaccio to Beckett, Chaucer to Celine, (how many letters do I get here?)

My boys are 21 & 22; they spend most of their time with me. The youngest drew his first political cartoon when he was 9: George W. Bush (in tie and cowboy hat) getting a hot foot from a fire-breathing Pokemon. It's still on our fridge. We are close & affectionate, and do lots of things together. We have a nature trail on the hill behind our house, and some small pets.

Once my son asked me if I believe in life after death. I told him, "Of course. There is obviously life after death. Just look at how many other people will still be alive after one of us is dead!" For each of us, I believe the greatest challenge is to live with the reality that none of us is more valuable than any other. This is just as much a challenge in intimate, family relations as in public or business life.
What I’m doing with my life
I love my work, which is writing software as an independent consultant. I'm financially secure, have flexible hours and bright, creative colleagues. I like new ideas, and read voraciously in many fields.

For the last few years I've been working away from home on consulting projects, but now I'm home to stay again!
I’m really good at
Thinking and writing. Sometimes I do them in the wrong order, though. So I get lots of practice at editing too. Sigh.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
What I like best is learning to appreciate new things that once put me off. Black coffee, straight Scotch, rock climbing, Kronos, Mondrian, hip hop, cylindrical algebra, Bunuel - each has a bite but also real depth once you are over the hump
The six things I could never do without
Contributing to the community is important to me. Before my children were old enough to have activities, I taught reading skills to inmates in the Durham County jail. Later I coached my boys soccer team, and helped with Scouts and the PTA.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I'm quite the thinker. Sometimes I write articles and sometimes I get invited to interesting places to talk about stuff.

Technically I'm an atheist. But I grew up as a Lutheran and I still appreciate the tradition of thinking for oneself against orthodoxy. I've found I have more in common with people whose outlook has been formed by traditional religion, than with those who are shaped by contemporary psychotherapy.

All ideas are human products, and none of us need be a pure consumer of them.
On a typical Friday night I am
With the right person, laundry and dishes are delightful. But while getting to know someone I like to go to the art museums, concerts (classical, early music & blues are my favorites), movies (foreign/indy), ride bicycles, paddle and hike.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My dog was once called a "being of light" but that maybe because we were in Carrboro at the time. Now we have two ferrets which we wash often (so they smell nice) and are amazingly lovable too.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 40–60
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You like the way I write...