Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

AHotProfessor

42 M Decatur, GA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 3:55pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Buddhism
Sign
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm bright, confident, easy-going, and down-to-earth. I don’t stress out about the little things and I have firm principles when it comes to the big things. I believe in open heartedness, honesty, communication, and mindfulness. I have a wicked sense of humor and a quick wit.

I value intelligence, compassion, and self-awareness.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to have the biggest heart and the deepest awareness I can.

Experiencing other cultures has had a huge impact on my life. I've spent about a decade living in Nepal and India. I expect that I'll keep going back there for my entire life. Being with someone who is interested in exploring new places is important to me and I don't have much time for people who are narrow-minded or ethnocentric.

Though I will always have one foot - both professionally and personally - traveling the world, I'm also at a point in my life where putting down roots is making me happy. I've got a great career, home, and friends in Atlanta and would like to find an amazing partner here who shares my interest in exploring the wide world but who is also open to the possibility of settling down and making a life together.

For work, I'm a professor of religion (focus on Buddhism) and anthropology.
I’m really good at
being real.
talking about it (whatever "it" is).
loyalty.
sharing the covers.
The first things people usually notice about me
I've never asked. I'm more interested in the first thing *you* notice about me...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
* Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind (my desert island book)
* Dostoevsky (woah, genius)
* Milan Kundera (can't think of an author who better captures what it's like to be a man; always intrigued by how many women like him)
* The Rime of the Ancient Mariner (if you ply me with wine I might recite this from memory for you - don't say you weren't warned!)
* John Fowles (more woah, genius. The Magus is my favorite but it's all brilliant)
* Calvin & Hobbes (sometimes I fantasize that Watterson hasn't really retired but is just making a trove of new Calvin & Hobbes in secret and will one day let us all see it)
* Salinger (ditto comment about Watterson above)
* The Lord of the Rings
* The God of Small Things (heart-breaking and beautiful)
* The Tin Drum
* Lately, the Game of Thrones series (read the books first, very addictive, now catching up with the tv series which is almost as good)
* When I finally finish the manuscript that I'm currently procrastinating on I hope it will be one of my favorite books too.

Music: Bob Dylan, Grateful Dead, Dan Bern, Hem, The Waifs, Gillian Welch, Manu Chao, and so much more. One of the things that I especially like about Atlanta is how much great live music there is. Favorite venues: Eddie's Attic and the Variety.

Food: everything, if it's well prepared with good ingredients. I like to cook but it's more fun with another person to help eat the results.

A few movies that I think are perfect & genius: O Brother Where Art Thou, Hannah and Her Sisters, Fanny & Alexander, Apocalypse Now Redux, Godfathers I & II, Diner, The Big Lebowski, Pulp Fiction.

TV: Daily Show, Colbert, MSNBC talking heads, South Park (more genius), America's Test Kitchen, True Blood, Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones.
The six things I could never do without
* Family.
* Friends.
* Great stories.
* Making you laugh.
* Heathbar crunch.
* Mental clarity.
* My students (ok, they're not "things" but I still love 'em).
* A cup of coffee, light & sweet.
* Ignoring stupid rules, like how many things you can put in your list.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Love
Sex
Intimacy
The meaning of life
How it all fits together
People I care about
On a typical Friday night I am
One of the nice things about being a professor: almost every night can be Friday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Earn my trust and I'll tell you anything. And expect the same in return. :-)
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 30–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
The woman I want to meet is smart, attractive, and self-aware. You enjoy being feminine. You're bored by the bar scene. You want more from life than just vanilla. You would cross a mountain for a great conversation. You wouldn't have dreamt of voting for Romney. Big plus for bright eyes and easy laughter.

Why you should get to know me:

• Because you'll introduce me to parts of myself I've never met, and I'll do the same, and we'll both like what we discover.
• Because I inspire fierce loyalty in my friends, and they get the same in return.
• Because we both know none of this means anything without chemistry, and just reading profiles will never tell us whether we have it.
• Because you deserve someone amazing and so do I.

If what I've written here strikes a chord for you I'd like to hear from you.

p.s. Someone suggested I add an explanation of my preferred age range (30-40). I think these numbers are pretty arbitrary but I do want to be a parent if I meet the right partner, so that's why I've included this preference.