A_Physicist
31 Edmonton, Alberta, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
A_Physicist
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a laid back person, hopping to meet someone who's friendly and enjoys intelligent conversation.

I don't tend to stick with hobbies for very long. Lately I've been trying to get a 3d printer working, sewing a shirt, playing chess, and creating a program for simulating systems of proteans. I enjoy reading, preferably things that make me think, although comedy and escapism can be good to. I like dancing even though I'm not very good at it.
What I’m doing with my life
I did a masters degree in biophysics. I'm planning to do a Ph.D. but, not right away. I've been spending a fair bit of my time lately messing around with 3d printing.
I’m really good at
Not surprisingly I'm good at math and physics. Except for optics, which is my nemesis. I'm also pretty good at explaining things, I got a lot of practice working in the physics tutorial center. I'm looking forward to teaching classes once I become a professor.
Also sudoku. I play way to much sudoku.
The first things people usually notice about me
Aside from my beard? I'm not sure, you tell me :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
Some of my favourites are The Martian, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, The Lord of the Rings, and Born to Run. I also like the authors Larry Niven and Terry Pratchett.

In terms of genera I like science fiction, non fiction, and fantasy. I also really like old sci fi where some of the things talked about have already happened or turned out differently in real life.

Movies/TV:
I never really go out of my way to see movies. I do still enjoy most of them when I do see them though. I haven't had a television that receives channels in over a decade and I can't say I miss it. I enjoy documentaries on almost any subject and will chose them over pretty much any tv show or movie. BBC Planet Earth is my favorite.

Music:
I have more or less random tastes in music. I'll know if I like something after hearing it a couple times. I tend to prefer things that have a solid beat to them though. My favourite melody is Greensleeves. Also symphony of science is awesome.

Food:
I enjoy Pasta, pizza, perogies, and oatmeal among other things. Chocolate is also nice. I have a bread maker that I use semi regularly since I really like fresh bread.
The six things I could never do without
1) My friends and family.
2) The internet.
3) Learning new things.
4) Oatmeal. I eat oatmeal for breakfast almost every day.
5) Water. I don't just mean this in a basic necessity sort of way. Water is actually one of my favorite things to drink.
6) Hugs.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Ways of communicating concepts. Anytime I explain anything to someone I'll usually go over the conversation in my head many times and try to come up with ways of making what I explained make sense to as many different sorts of people as possible. I also spend time thinking about energy and environmental issues, how they might be solved and or what will happen if they aren't.
You should message me if
You would like to talk to me.
More