Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

A_la_Vida

57 F Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 12:24pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
5′ 3″ (1.60m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Aquarius, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Chinese (Okay), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
As far back as I can remember, I have navigated life by the compass of my heart. I remember, around puberty, thinking: Life is an amazing gift, and to be treasured.

In 2009 I surrendered a writing cabin in the woods to make a pilgrimage to the world. I started with three months in Mexico to finish writing a screenplay. I then wandered in Europe and Ethiopia. Rented an apartment and enjoyed living in Berlin for six months.

The stories we tell ourselves and one another have so much power to create what is. One thing I am is a story maker, engaging with others to create the new stories our world needs. My screenplay is a healing story for the U.S.; today I'm focusing on bringing it to the screen.

Twenty years ago, a lover told me I have emotional courage. I'm someone willing -- desiring -- to look into the depths of things; and I'm willing, always, to do the work to make myself, my relationships, and my creations better.
Two people in the last few years told me I have gravitas. One was speaking of my work, the other was speaking of my approach to life in general. 
Well, okay... and I also love to laugh!

I love diverse cultures and languages and people, I speak Chinese and Spanish, und ein klein bisschen Deutsch. I love wandering, whether in an urban or natural landscape... I love finding the hidden gems in a city. I love theater, concerts, film, dance -- all the arts -- anywhere. I love to snorkel when in the tropics, and enjoy a picnic or a hike when in the woods or mountains.

My taste in literature tends to the contemporary and culturally diverse. I'm very selective about films; I most enjoy character-driven dramas, often with subtitles, but see other things, too. My taste in music is eclectic and broad.

I care deeply about the world, and my personal spirituality is a cornerstone of my life.

I'm looking for a gracious, proactive and gentle man who shares my love of the arts and our world.
What I’m doing with my life
After working for two decades in the healing arts, and my share of social activism, I got clear that the expressive arts are my core path -- the one that gives me the most pleasure while giving the world my best gifts.
I would love to create a joyful connection with a loving, sensual man who also loves the arts, whether as a creator, a purveyor, a producer or patron, or some other way(s).

I'm working to bring my film into production; it's my current contribution to bringing healing to our world.

I am loving and caring for my friends and community.

I enjoy time in nature when I get it.
I’m really good at
Being a friend.
Getting to the heart of the matter.
Feeling into how another feels.
Making unusual connections - between ideas, and among people.
Creative solutions.
Relating across gaps of social difference.
Expressing myself verbally, in writing and speech. Expressing myself visually through photography, painting and film.
Stepping outside of myself.
Creativity, compassion, problem solving, languages.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, my hair, my hearty laughter.
My warmth and caring.
My passion for life.
How articulate, observant and smart I am, yet sometimes shy :)
How comfortable I am with people different from myself.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Gee, where to start...
BOOKS: The Spell of the Sensuous; And All Our Wounds Forgiven; The Dispossessed; Beloved; The Perfection of the Morning; A Shining Affliction; Where the Body Meets Memory; Red Azalea; The Spirit of Intimacy; Of Water and the Spirit; Their Eyes Were Watching God; Learning to Be White; Playing in the Dark; Sitting in the Fire; anything by bell hooks or James Baldwin; Life, Paint and Passion; The Gift; Dreaming with Open Eyes; The Passionate, Accurate Story; The Fruitful Darkness, for starters...
MOVIES: My Life as A Dog; Frozen River; Ghost World; In The Mood for Love; Lan Yu; The Business of Fancydancing; The Cuckoo; Paulina; The Secret of Roan Innish; Lone Star; Night Catches Us; Vertical Ray of the Sun; Patti Rocks; Shanghai Flowers; Kiss of the Spider Woman; Far from Heaven; Somewhere in Africa; When Night Is Falling; Whale Rider, for starters...
MUSIC: Eclectic - jazz, R&B, soul, world music, "new music," spiritual, classical, folk.
FOOD: anything tasty and healthy - Japanese, Thai, Ethiopian, Vietnamese, Italian, Chinese, Spanish, Mexican, Greek, Indian...
The six things I could never do without
My friends.
The arts.
Nature.
Stories.
Enjoying my body - movement, food, touch.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The next steps to bring my screenplay into production.
How the world works, what's going on, and my part in making it whole.
Who is the man coming into my life.
How to nurture my friends.
How beautiful and remarkable nature is; people are part of that.
The Mystery of life.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 47–60
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You are curious, you think we would enjoy one another, you want to explore what chemistry we might share....