Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Aaron1855

26 M Alexandria, VA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 5:47pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism
Sign
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
$60,000–$70,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English, Spanish

Similar Users

My self-summary
I don't have any selfies of myself in the mirror. I feel like that's a big thing for guys on here, and an even bigger irritant to women on here. I hope that wins me a few brownie points (admittedly, that's a low bar...).

I'm an outgoing guy, genuine, affectionate, intelligent and very good at conversation. I like discovering new music, hiking, cooking, watching movies, politics, Curb Your Enthusiasm (if you get that kind of humor you're awesome), writing and just talking and getting to know people. I've started getting into rock climbing recently as well as distance running. I'm entranced by the smell of leaves in autumn, the relaxed comfort of Old Town and how hilarious "Bill Cosby: Himself" is. I'm very self-motivated, have a deep sense of loyalty to my friends and family and sometimes like to just wonder at the wonder of things. I'm from New York originally, near NYC, and I've been down in the D.C. area for five and a half years now and plan on staying for a while.

Also, Aaron is my middle name, just fyi.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as an online journalist covering the wireless industry and I finished getting my MA in international affairs in May 2012, so I'm looking to do something with that in or out of the government. When I'm not preoccupied with that I like to explore, find new restaurants, meet new people, and think about things like this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9D05ej8u-gU
I’m really good at
Writing, listening, explaining complex things, talking about politics, telling you why you shouldn't get that smartphone--but should get *that one* instead, suggesting good music to listen to, finding great brunch spots, being there.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm a genuine, down to earth person, who's interested in what others have to say. Maybe my smile, too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: A Bend in the River, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Chronicles: Volume One, The Lord of the Rings, Invisible Man, Light in August, Private Empire, Leaves of Grass, A Peace to End All Peace, Manhood for Amateurs.

Movies: too many to count, but favorites include: There Will be Blood, The Lord of the Rings, The Princess Bride, Pulp Fiction, The Shawshank Redemption, Dr. Strangelove, Up, Blazing Saddles, Ghostbusters, Groundhog Day, Airplane!,

In November I saw 12 Years a Slave and was blown away by it. I can't recommend it more highly.

Shows: Curb Your Enthusiasm, Entourage, Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, The Simpsons, The Daily Show, The Colbert Report

My newest obsession is True Detective. Watch it.

Music: Of Monsters and Men, Iron & Wine, MGMT, Bon Iver, Railroad Earth, The Decemberists, Sufjan Stevens, DMB, Disptach, Snow Patrol, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, CSNY, Blood Sweat and Tears, Chicago, the Rolling Stones, Simon & Garfunkel, Billy Joel, The Cranberries, Dispatch, Bend Folds Five, U2, the Allman Brothers, Radiohead, Damien Rice, Coldplay.

Food: Italian, Indian, Mexican, American...all kinds.
The six things I could never do without
1. My family and friends (who doesn't list this? I'm genuinely curious)
2. Natural beauty (especially the leaves changing color in the fall)
3. Travel
4. Laughter
5. Reading the news/knowing what's going on in the world
6. Good music.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to be a better writer, a better friend and a better person. The stars, and how every atom in our bodies once came from an exploding star. And Betty White...man, she's smokin'.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either out with friends in D.C. (since, curiously, no one likes to hang out in Old Town), or collapsed in bed from the week, or perhaps enjoying a night in with a glass of wine and a movie or book.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once had a giant afro. Huge.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–28
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
if you'd like to talk to me, meet up and hopefully get to know me. I enjoy meeting people. I'm on this site because I'd like to find someone to have a genuine connection with, and to be in a relationship with. I'm looking for someone who hopefully shares some of my interests, will open up to me about theirs and and allow themselves to discover new ones together. I understand most women like the the thrill of the "game," and I'll play to a certain extent. But I'd honestly prefer not to, and to just be open, have fun and get to know each other without wondering too much about how long to wait between text messages. I'm 26, not 16. Anyway, if you've found any of this appealing, shoot me a message or please reply to one I've sent to you.