Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

AcademicLauren

24 F Denver, CO

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 8:17pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, and laughing about it
Sign
Aquarius
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
"I have perceived that to be with those I like is enough,
To stop in company with the rest at evening is enough,
To be surrounded by beautiful curious breathing laughing flesh is
enough... What is this then?
I do not ask any more delight... I swim in it as in a sea."
-Walt Whitman

I am a writer. I love dogs, bouldering, and Latin dancing. I love to travel, but am very grounded. I don't think that happiness is always found someplace else; I can feel fulfilled wherever I am.
What I’m doing with my life
I just graduated from my Masters program in comparative religion and post-colonial philosophy. Currently interviewing with various NGOs.
I’m really good at
Things about which I am passionate (that I hope I'm good at!):
teaching, singing, writing

Things I'm empirically good at:
making people laugh, sincerity, keeping in touch with people.
The first things people usually notice about me
My energy, smile, and cynical sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite band is The National, and they are very important to me. I also love bluegrass, The Smiths, Joy Division, Animal Collective, Father John Misty, Ray Lamontagne, Gregory Alan Isakov, Horse Feathers, Iron & Wine, Fleet Foxes, Band of Horses, Wavves, Alt-J, Purity Ring, Interpol, The Magnetic Fields, Camera Obscura, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Kills, The Dead Weather, Miles Davis, and many others. Oh, and Indian music. A.R. Rahman, Anoushka Shankar, Shankar Mahadevan, Sonu Nigam and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan to name a few!

For books, of course I'm always reading postcolonial scholars, and read a lot of Foucault, Fanon, bell hooks, Shari'ati, Said, and other African-diaspora, feminist and Islamic scholars for research/fun.

For pleasure, I read the transcendentalists and great Sufis, among others. I love Rainer Maria Rilke, Walt Whitman, Mary Oliver, Henry David Thoreau, Wendell Berry, Rumi, Hafiz, Boris Pasternak, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Pablo Neruda.

I don't have a t.v., but I watch Parks and Rec. on Netflix and could probably quote much of any given episode on command.

Movies: Guzaarish, Umrao Jaan, Rab Ni Bana Di Jodi, Jodhaa Akbar.

Food: Indian, Middle Eastern, Thai, Mexican, El Salvadorian. I don't eat pork or other red meat, but occasionally partake in fish and poultry.
The six things I could never do without
-Music
-Coffee
-My journal (though even a piece of scrap paper or napkin would generally suffice)
-Trees
-Chacos
-Autumn
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Everything. Postcolonial discourse, social ideologies and our performance of identity, structural oppression... And what is my share of work in this life? How do I help to ease the suffering of others?
On a typical Friday night I am
Salsa dancing, out eating/drinking with friends, or relaxing at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I take my coffee in the shower.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 24–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Please feel free! Especially if you love camping and stargazing, or know the immense pleasure of working/creating something with your own hands (but I'll settle for "doesn't play video games"). If you love your family. I'm really looking for someone lighthearted and funny, yet passionate. I want someone who thinks I'm funny! Because I am! Haha

However, please do not bother sending me a message if:

-You think men should be the heads of their households (or anything other than gender equality, for that matter).
-You own a handgun.
-You're only here for sex.

Also, if you use big words and outdated grammatical conventions to try to sound smart, I will know that you aren't. Especially since most people who do this misspell or misuse these words/conventions anyway. Just be real!