Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Acmrkly

43 F Manhattan, KS

My Details

Last Online
Apr 14
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, and might want more
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hello. Well, originally from NY I'm a 20 year transplant to KS. People still ask if this is a difficult transition, but it really isn't. I love both places! I love the people and the rolling Flint Hills and the wide variety of pools to swim in during the 100+ degree summers (and I love to go swimming). I have wonderful friends and family here and couldn't imagine raising my daughter anywhere else. BUT, I also love the Northeast. Trees and mountains and beautiful lakes, and cooler evenings that sometimes even justify wearing a sweatshirt while gathered around a campfire. Trips out to the Cape to visit Aunts and Uncles are also an important part of my trips back east and I sometimes imagine I can smell the salt air and pine trees all the way out here in the Midwest.
I came out to go to Graduate school at K State, get my degree, and move to “some place real”, but I ended up with two degrees, a family, home and no goals on the horizon to go any place else.
I have a small family, but I'm VERY close to them, despite the fact that they're all still back in NY. We try to see each other at least twice a year, between trips back to NY or trips out here to KS.
I have an Elementary age daughter, who's my life, but quickly exerting her independence and I treasure the minutes before she's really going to show me what's what. I also have a college age stepson, who lives in the same neighborhood as we do, but is tough to track down due to classes, work and socializing. Food is usually the best motivator to have him come visit.
What I’m doing with my life
I am an Early Childhood Special Education teacher for a local school district with a passion for playing. I love my job because someone's actually paying me to play with cute children each day, watch them grow and get to be involved in their development and learning. How cool is that??
I've also found that I kind of like fixing things... granted they're usually what some people might consider simple, but I am stoked to say that I've replaced the railing up to my front door, a door knob AND a faucet/ drain. If you're handy, you can show me some other home improvement jobs I can do :-)...
I'm also raising an amazing little girl into an equally incredible big girl! She's funny, bright, inquisitive, loves to read and do crafts. Hmm... kind of like her momma! She and I have fun pouring over the community calendars here in the area. Whether it be music, art, sports... we're in! Oh, and I'm also getting very good at letting her go to a friend's and doing grown up things for myself, like trying out new restaurants, hikes, reading for the mystery book club I've started, and currently training to walk a half marathon this summer.
You know that balance between work, life and play is a full time job! I'm up for the challenge though.
I’m really good at
Apparently, what I'm really good at (according to a great friend) is not giving myself enough credit :-)
I do work hard at being responsible, which is kind of important when you're balancing work and single parenting, but that isn't what I'm all about. When told to sit down and really look at what I offer people it was honest friendship, laughs, compassion, a twinkle in the eye in the midst of telling a joke, the ability to throw humility to the curb and go out dancing even though the average age of those around me in the club is the same as my stepson. And maybe I'm just fooling myself, but I don't think I'm a horrible dancer! I just know that I can't help but move when the right music's on. I listen to my friends and enjoy being with people who can also laugh and have fun. I'm also a self-proclaimed, awesome campfire starter (I love to go camping!) I'm also good at eating chocolate and giving hugs, or so I've been told.
The first things people usually notice about me
So far the overwhelming majority says they first notice my smile (and I could see that), but then there have been votes for my ability to be a friend. If I get to share what I notice, it's that I have quite the bizarre, fun, and loveable group of friends. I think that's because I can be very accepting of others, I can be fun and fancy free (lol), or quiet and intimate. I don't always need a lot of conversation. Comfortable silence over coffee is alright with me too. Oh, and I can still slip out a bit of NY accent now and then, which gets people chuckling. I don't mind though... when I first moved to KS, I worked in a bar and made a LOT of tips off of guys wanting me to say “water” “quarter” and “dog”.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
Mysteries top the list, British mysteries in particular, but I am always open to suggestions...
Elizabeth George, and P.D. James are my two favorite authors. I've also discovered a series about a young girl named Flavia de Luce (I'll be impressed if anyone else out there can tell me they've read her series), by Alan Bradley. I'm almost done rereading Watership Down with my daughter. I also really enjoyed reading books from my Women's Literature class in college and stumbled upon The Yellow Wallpaper and Herland, both by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. Shakespeare is also something I wish I had the time and focus to read again, as it was one of my favorite classes in college, but nowadays I have to settle for watching it performed on stage. Back east there's a troupe that performs it at an open air theater on the Hudson River and they change up the 4 plays they do each summer. What a treat that is!

Movies
Quite the variety that I can claim to enjoy, but I can't take much horror. Favorites are Spinal Tap, Pirate Radio (RIP, Phillip Seymour Hoffman), Love Actually, Colors, Oh, Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Princess Bride, Born Yesterday (the original, and you win a prize if you've seen that), The Breakfast Club, The Birds, Psycho, The Goonies, Caddyshack, Meatballs, Beverly Hills Cop, Rebel Without a Cause, and L.A. Story (I think I discover something new every time I watch that).

TV shows:
Gave up on cable, so I rely on Netflix to feed the need, but I love Law & Order, and Law & Order, SVU. I also love Dexter, The Closer, How I Met Your Mother, House Hunters International, the Kenneth Brannaugh version of Wallander, and The Fall (a new BBC series which takes place in Dublin, starring Gillian Anderson). I can also veg for hours with Columbo, Quincy, M.E., and the original Hawaii Five-O.

Music:
Hmm... easier to tell you what I don't like. Old style country. The twangy stuff. Yeah, I know, tough to admit that out here in the Midwest, but I just can't take it for long before I start to twitch. Pretty much all else is good to go. I grew up in the 80's so any pop, Brit pop, or hair metal will likely show up in my play list, but I also enjoy classical, bluegrass, and older stuff like Ella Fitzgerald. Plus, given my love of dancing, anything techno, current pop, disco or whatnot is welcome. In concert, I've seen Sarah McLaughlin, Styx, The Police, Motley Crue, David Lee Roth, Metallica, Night Ranger, Foreigner, Phil Colins, The Beach Boys, Sting, Ratt, and Ladysmith Black Mombazo, in not particular order. Oh, and I am proud to say I've also seen Spinal Tap in concert!

Food:
Easy... chocolate, NY pizza, Chinese or Korean, anything seafood & Italian, but I'm up for anything really. I love trying out new restaurants now that I've grown out of my picky teenager stage :-)
The six things I could never do without
1. My daughter
2. My family (very close to my parents and sister)
3. My friends
4. A good book
5. Chocolate
6. Walks outside
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to keep improving my life and the life for my daughter. It does make me sound like I'm uber responsible, and don't know how to have fun, but I am finding that I can do both. I do like to be sensible with my money, I also like to know that I'm making smart, healthy choices – I mean my daughter is taking in everything I do each day, but I enjoy discovering when I've been able reach balances in my life between time with my daughter, friends, work, and my own health and happiness. I came out of my divorce scared of what lay ahead but I'm really proud of what I've accomplished and how my life continues to be enriched by the things I am doing and the people I know. The time I spend enjoying myself is not an escape, it's something I truly get to enjoy and the people around me seem to respond to that.
On a typical Friday night I am
Home with my daughter, but if I have a reason to go out, I just get a babysitter!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I think you'd probably have to earn my trust before I share those thoughts...
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 35–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You'd like to meet an interesting woman who is fun but doesn't NEED someone to take care of her.