Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ActiveSolar

52 F Austin, TX

My Details

Last Online
Today – 6:33am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 2″ (1.57m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Strictly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t want kids
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hi, I dropped out for a few months after a crummy experience made me rethink this way of trying to connect with people. But I'm heading on vacation for a couple weeks and think it would be fun to meet some locals while I'm in Croatia and Montenegro.

I just installed a large temporary outdoor art installation that has really challenged me in so many ways. More of a Project Management and Engineering job than art-making until just this week when I got to get hands-on with power tools! (see recent photo).

Over the Summer I spent a a magical month in the south of France. Tookquite awhile to adjust to normal life after a life of wandering and exploration. There seemed to be something brilliant around every corner: a fantastic contemporary art exhibit in the middle of the Pope's Palace in Avignon or a spontaneous disco in the street in Montpellier. Crazy street art and friendly folks everywhere!

I always have a camera with me to shoot anything that is interestingly composed. I look for incongruity and balance.
I'm into modern and conceptual art; looking at it , learning about it. I love to have my mind changed. I love when I suddenly see things differently. I love to explore, get lost and find my way.

Most important, though, is Nature. I love the way the temperature changes when I drive over a creek; riding my bike through the pine trees in Bastrop State Park; bugs, critters, weeds, all of it. I grew up barefoot in the Colorado mountains and really relate to dirt and rocks and trees. But, strangely, my heart belongs to Greece.
Being strong and healthy is something I (shouldn't) take for granted. A fast athletic Polka is a blast; flying downhill on my bike; interminable crunches; club dancing to a lather; snoozing; staring into space; connecting all sorts of dots.

I really have to add that I don't want to be a Step Mom. If you have kids, think about looking for a single Mom. They need a mate who can relate to their unique struggles and joys. Not having kids was a conscious choice for me.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
After working as a freelance photo/food stylist for about 16 years I'm now devoting my creative energy to making art, not predictable ads for ordinary companies. The money was definitely better with the former but the payoff is greater, now.

I've had the opportunity to do some outdoor installation art this past year, made a one-ton sculpture from miles of rescued bicycle tubes and now, 3- 20' trees made from municipal PVC and orange construction fencing. I am now declaring myself An Artist when people ask what I do. It feels absolutely right, finally, to own that.

I always have creative projects on various burners; art, design, cooking, minor construction/engineering. I've been shooting abstract digital images and find the creative experience is in the moment not the result, which feels good and more like how I'm trying to live.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Creative problem-solving: personal, structural, compositional. I have a good head for amateur engineering, psychology; coming up with metaphors that clarify positions; verbiage to describe wine, colors, confusing things; making a tool out of whatever's around (I pride myself in being able to get a beer bottle open, anywhere). Seeing many sides to issues and ideas; giving people a break and not expecting them to act or be different than they want. Not taking every frickin' thing personally. Unless it's flattery.
Off my bike, clean and fluffy and ready to go out in under 30.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
that I'm a total stranger talking to them like we're buddies.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I have a degree in English but just don't read that much anymore- damned Internet! Favorite authors have been: Gunter Grass, Dave Eggers, Tom Robbins, Michael Cunningham, Michael Chabon.

I belong to the Austin Film Society, watch documentaries on art, design, architecture and outdoor adventure All The Time, several times a week. I was just blown away by one on Origami! Encounters at the End of the World, Garbage Warrior, Herb and Dorothy. I had a Film Pass for SXSW again this year and had a blast biking back and forth between theatres, it was like Urban Bike Boot Camp. Saw 15 films in 5 days, mostly documentaries, nearly all of them were excellent. Narrative-wise, films I've loved: Melancholia, JCVD, The Fall, 2046, The English Patient (sorry, Elaine!). I love going to lectures on art and architecture and hit lots of gallery openings and even get a chance to show my art work from time to time.

I missed most of the music in the 90's and am really happy to be interested again; like the Broken Bells, Deathcab, The National, etc but really smitten by The Easy Star Allstars dub remakes of concept albums like RadioDread, Dubside of the Moon. My personal theme song: I Can See Clearly Now, Johnny Nash, kinda gives me chills every time.

I don't eat animals so fresh veggies are a priority but it's amazing how hard they are to come by in this town. It's always "zucchini and yellow squash". Seriously. Love Bouldin Creek Cafe, Fabi+Rosi, Domincan Joe's, Brick Oven on 35th, Vietnamese, Thai.

TED. com, Dezeen.com, ArtDaily.org, AshesandSnow.org, mocoloco.com, radioparadise.com
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
tap water
sunshine
kitties
genuine connection with people
adventure
ability to See
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
solutions for things that need to be redesigned, foreign travel, past and future, what's next for me, what do I really, really want out of life, how fantastic that breeze feels, the grass smells, the Rioja wine tastes (all ragged and leathery).
How changing my mind can change my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
happy hour with friends, cold pints on a sunny patio. Home early though because I teach a 2 hour workout in the morning.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I do not have it all figured out. Thought I did, but nope.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 40–55
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you're open-minded, self-aware, emotionally literate, LOCAL (or would like to relocate me to SFCA), veg friendly, outdoorsy, verbal, witty, energetic, can tolerate long stories with footnotes and sidebars.