Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Aigopolites

27 M Berkeley, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 18–27
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Today – 11:32am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$20,000–$30,000
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English, French (Okay), Ancient Greek (Okay), Greek (Okay), Latin (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a well-educated guy from Great Britain (yes, I have the accent) who has somehow ended up in California - via Canada - to spend several years of his life by the Bay.

You'll probably think that I'm very British. I'm faultlessly polite, I enjoy Scotch whisky, and people keep telling me that I sound like James Bond. On the other hand, I might surprise you: I prefer coffee to tea, my teeth are perfectly fine, and I've even developed a bit of a liking for bluegrass music. Yes, that last one took me by surprise as well.

Like everybody else online (so it seems), I love to travel, and learning about different cultures and histories fascinates me. There are few things that make me as happy as hiking through ancient ruins in other countries and trying to speak the local language. I've mostly travelled in Europe (particularly in France, Italy and Greece), though I've also been to some interesting places in Canada and the North-Eastern US. I spent this last summer learning German in Berlin, and am trying to figure out where to go next and, like most grad students, how to pay for it.

I spend a lot of my time reading - that goes with my work - but when I've got some free time, I like to go hiking or swimming, play badminton, or have a good night out with friends. One great thing about living in California, I've found, is the extensive opportunities for wine-tasting! I've also been making an effort lately to improve my cooking abilities, inspired by the excellent local produce and shamed by my housemates' superior efforts. My most recent attempt was a simple version of a Greek moussaka; it turned into a sort of ratatouille by mistake, but still tasted good, so I count that as a success.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm currently studying for a PhD in Byzantine and medieval history at UC Berkeley.

What does that mean? I study medieval Greek and Latin texts and artefacts, write about Byzantine history, and teach undergraduates about people with names that are hard to spell. Sound cool to you? I hope so!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing, analytical thinking, faking a Texan accent, playing badminton, making people think that I know more than I really do, drawing, learning foreign languages, cooking, and (so I have been told) pleasing a woman. No, really.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My classy British accent.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Hmm, let's see...

Books: lots of fun thrillers like James Bond, historical novels like the Hornblower series and Flashman, collections of poetry by people like Robert Burns and Constantine Cavafy, and of course lots and lots of academic history. I should put some weighty philosophical tome, but I'm afraid that I can't. Dostoyevsky is one of my favourite (serious) novelists, and the Aeneid is my favourite ancient epic poem.

Movies: Amelie, Jerry Macguire, High Fidelity, Apollo 13, Letters from Iwo Jima, The Twilight Samurai, Goodfellas, Full Metal Jacket, Dr Strangelove, Gladiator (obviously), The Bourne Identity, Apocalypse Now, Back to the Future, The Matrix, Margin Call, Inside Job...

TV Shows: Apparently I'm into Curb Your Enthusiasm, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia. The Simpsons, Family Guy, The Office, The Daily Show, How I Met Your Mother, The Big Bang Theory, Boardwalk Empire, Veep, oh, and The Wire is awesome, too...

Music: Classic rock like Dire Straits, The Eagles, Santana, Jimi Hendrix etc. Also some folk music (Simon and Garfunkel, Bob Dylan), classical (Vivaldi, Beethoven), some jazz, Cuban (Buena Vista Social Club), and various other eclectic things.

Food: I'm quite fond of Italian cuisine, though Thai, Chinese, Indian, and good old British food are also up there as well. I've also grown to like Vietnamese, which I'd never had until I came to the US.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. A good read
2. I'll be honest - the internet
3. Sunny days
4. Sumatran or Javanese coffee (yes, bit of a coffee snob)
5. A challenge
6. A solid night's sleep
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
11th-century Byzantine Italy. Seriously. It's really interesting.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Besides slaving over work for grad school?

Normally I'm down for some live music, a fine wine or beer, good food... Anything to get out of the house and into some good company.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
When I was 18 I decided to become Greek Orthodox, surprising friends and family alike.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you're an interesting and intelligent person with opinions about the world and something to say for yourself!

I'm going to be back in the UK over Christmas, but I'll be back again in early January, so just hang on a few weeks!