Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Aiyami

34 Ann Arbor, MI Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Everyone
  • Ages 22–40
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Jan 23
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
Asian, Pacific Islander, White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Agnosticism, and very serious about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Open relationship
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Poorly), Other (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
What a year! What periods of death and rebirth! What incredible scene changes!

The winter stripped us to our bones, and in the fields we regrow in new cycles. I have moved four times since May. I have cast aside the throwing of bones to hope for precognition and faith in a certain future. I have questioned all the assumptions of my life and found the questioning fertile ground of new directions.

More simply put: this winter, like many of my friends, I went through a difficult breakup with a long-term partner, having found that as we grew up and into our adult selves and the pressures of professions, we no longer had the same things in common, and no longer shared the sense of adventure and the buddy system we had as children.

And so the winter came, and then it warmed and broke our lattice and made way for new growth.

I choose to look at things my way, realistically optimistic. I dislike few things, really. Instead, I fill my shades of empty space with a healthy neutral ambivalence and scientific dispassion. And those things, like seasons, will often come and go, replacing themselves on their own accord as the sloughing of skin, leaving behind warmth and happiness.

Aiyami, and I can be no other ^_^
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a student. I'm an activist. I'm a lifelong learner. I'm a life scientist, as in: I am always willing to take a worthwhile risk, and do the experiment. I work in a chemistry lab and use the mechanisms of organic chemistry to illuminate life functions. Chemistry, in my eyes, is magic, alchemy, transmutation. To think that we have understood the manipulations of matter so well on a molecular level so as to reliably change one substance into another and use that to make a medicine, or a psychedelic, or something that let's us look into the brain...now that's something.

I'm poly (every scientist is married to the lab?) and so I spend a lot of time outside of the hood with my partners. I started advocating for sexual and relationship rights at UMich through student government, and this in turn has brought me to considering poly from a higher-level view. With one of my fabulous partners, we recently gave a Nerd Night talk in Detroit and we'll be speaking as guest lecturers at a Psychology/Women’s Studies course.

I quit smoking and drinking and have been too lazy to change this in other parts of my profile. I have no problem being around such things (having successfully organized a bar crawl or two) and since 'sobriety' has been so enjoyable I see no reason to go back. It's almost been a year and I feel more healthy than ever.

At 33 I discovered the simple joy of shaving everyday. Mmmmm smoothe face.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Connecting people to other people.

Riding my bike, alone, for thousands of miles.

Cuddles and conversation.

Having people question my sexuality. If they're good they question my gender alignment too (I go with chaotic neutral)

Conflict resolution.

Entheogens.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Usually my megaphone
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
This is my least favorite section on everyone else's profiles, the one that I skip over first and come back to last. It's also the one that people tend to fill out the most thoroughly because its *easy.* Really, one-line half-sentences in profiles and them three pages of bands or books or whatever. As if that's what describes you. I really don't care what type of music you listen to. It doesn't bother me if you're a vegetarian, or a foodie, or not. I recently became vegetarian. I like a lot of movies. I try to read a lot. I would rather climb a mountain than see a show. Simply put, I'm not going to credit or discredit anyone based on these criteria.

Most importantly, I hope we can teach each other something.

If you must know, I like the Nature subjournals, JACS, and Angewante.

Despite my nonchalance regarding most qualities, I despise spectator sports. I will only like something I participate in.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
An acetone squirt bottle, a 250 mL Erlenmeyer flask, a variable nitrogen stream, extrovert outlets, and a room of my own to rest in.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Since given my career and lifestyle, it's more likely than not I will die in some completely boring way like cancer; therefore I would like to improve my odds of dying by some other more satisfying way. Bike crash in the middle of an epic journey. Eaten by wolves while stranded in some expansive mountain country. Shot while standing up for something I believe in. A land war in Asia - or perhaps a battle of wits with a Sicilian while death is on the line.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
More often than not I'm in lab, but I'd like to change that.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Apparently I talk in my sleep sometimes. I asked someone and they said I was 'cogent' and 'well-reasoned'. I've woken myself up laughing. One time I sat straight up and said 'Gouda motherfucker!' I recently learned that I even make fun of my roommates. Yes it's true, I'm so next-level, I *do it in my sleep* - give this man a megaphone!

I am going through a separation. I probably should mention that. I'm a little heartbroken, which is not easy to admit. I get by most days.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I like emotionally, physically, and intellectually capable people. This can take many, many forms. In fact, if I were to say if I found one quality attractive, it would be 'capable.'

So yeah, if you got it together, message me ^_^

The OTHER thing that you should message me about is (and I realize that this is kinda a strange one, but it might be the best forums to do so): if you have experienced discrimination at the University of Michigan based on either relationship status (dating, not dating, dating multiple people) or sexual expression (the physical actions an individual does, or does not, take in order to manifest the emotional, romantic, and/or sexual attractions that are themselves manifestations of their sexual orientation) and you are willing to speak to me about your experiences. This can either be in a poly-kink way, or everyday discrimination. In a nutshell, I am working on trying to amend the Non-Discrimination Policy of the University of Michigan to include those two phrases. It would be the first time this has ever happened at any US institution of higher learning. The next major step is to go before the Regents of the University, and if that works out it will then protect one hundred thousand people. It's a long shot, but it might just work ^_^

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption
You look great!
I’m Done