Aliisalii
40 Turku, Finland
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Aliisalii
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Cheers! Tervehdys!

I'm curious for life, maintaining balance between adventure and stability, reason and emotion, laugh and cry, most of the time successfully. I'm a researcher both by my nature and my occupation, and I like to keep my mind busy. I keep dreaming, analyzing, wondering, and thank gods, forgetting things too. I enjoy pleasures that life offers, wholeheartedly, including wining and dining, cooking, cuddling, walking in the forest or by the sea, going out with friends, singing, traveling, reading, staying in with my cats, and sleeping in on weekends. On the other hand, I'm disciplined and don't avoid intense work or challenges. All in all, I take life as it is, and if I don't like it, I strive to change the things I can.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as a post doc researcher in cultural studies. Currently I work in Finland, but I got my degree in the US. I spend my days reading, writing, listening, talking, mentoring, organizing, competing, supporting, expressing, educating, and enjoying it all. I feel home in academic environment, but it's not my whole life. I have wonderful people in my life, both near and far, coming from different backgrounds, and knowing that I affect their lives and they mine, gives me comfort and sense of belonging.
I’m really good at
I'm an expert at sleeping, and I can sleep from 12 to 16 hours non stop if I feel like that. Following that train of thought, I'm really good at staying in, doing nothing but daydreaming, being by myself and forgetting cell phone, computer and other distractions.

On a more professional note, I'm good at seeing what's behind the surface and understanding causes behind words and actions -- and mentoring students.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'll have to ask.

Update: I asked. Apparantly, I keep my eyes closed when talking intensively and verbalizing new ideas. Also, I smile a lot and talk with my hands, they say.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
In general, I enjoy reading sci-fi, fantasy and poetry. My favorite authors are Neil Gaiman, Robert Holdstock, Daphne du Maurier, Aino Kallas, Maarit Verronen, Edith Södergran, John Ajvide Lindqvist, and Kaarlo Sarkia.

When it comes to movies, I could say that the weirder, the better. Some of my favorite movies are Alien, Aliens, Vertigo, The Birds, Pan's Labyrinth, The Devil's Backbone, Little Miss Sunshine, Hanna, The Omen, Children of Men, 28 Days Later, Bram Stoker's Dracula, the Village, Orphanage, and the Others.
Well, maybe not that weird after all...but spooky, surprising and melancholic.

When I watch TV, I try to find a channel that has The Mentalist, The Walking Dead, X-files, Big Bang Theory, True Detective or Frasier going on.

Edit: Some months ago I gave my TV away and haven't missed it a bit. My plan was to follow the series I like online, but alas, I found myself prefering reading :) I'm totally out of the loop when it comes to new TV series but I'm happy to talk about the wonderful and some not so wonderful books I've read recently.

Edit, part two: After a year and a half, I have a TV again, almost by coincidence. The earlier mentioned series still seem to be my favorite ones.

My taste of music depends on my mood. I like Kent, AIR, Röyksopp, Kings of Convenience, Sigur Ros, Eleanoora Rosenholm, the Ark, Der Blaue Reiter, PMMP, Oomph, Pariisin Kevät, Olavi Uusivirta, Linkin Park, Magenta Skycode, Sin Cos Tan, and Rinneradio.

I love spicy food, fried fish, roasted root veggies, fresh berries, and aged cheese with full bodied red wine. Since I'm a pretty decent cook, I tend to eat well and thus stay happy.
The six things I could never do without
Dreams, both daytime and night time
Cats
Lake or sea
Close friends of mine
My sister
Meaningful job or other meaningful way to spend my days
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Why? How? And then what?
On a typical Friday night I am
home or out with my friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
depends on who's asking, why and on what occasion.
You should message me if
I'm looking for a fellow (single) wanderer: compassionate, wise, independent and kind, who respects him-/herself and others.

Looking forward to hearing from you!
More