Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

AllBearsCanMoo

42 M Washington, DC

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Cancer, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

What I’m doing with my life
Settling down, laying roots. I finished a PhD in one of those what-are-you-going-to-do-with that disciplines, moved from LA to DC, worked on a rewarding government project for a year, and now work in the private sector doing economic research. Phew! Now that I've revamped the serious side of my life, it's time to focus on the important things.

Feeling gratitude, giving back. I run a group I created to help PhDs looking for non-academic jobs, and I volunteer with a scholarship that funds and mentors college students. I love seeing people gain a sense of competence and initiative.
I’m really good at
Doing what I say I’m going to do, making friends with dogs (they know a sucker when they see one), appreciating life’s absurdities, hitting the snooze bar too many times on Monday morning.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably that I'm intellectual and introverted, although I work hard on overcoming the latter. Later on my dry sense of humor comes out. People who come to like me tend to say that I'm a mystery that delightfully reveals itself over time.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My reading list is almost all nonfiction, though my favorite book is Catch-22. I have a fascination with financial scandals and crises, which, for reasons I don't understand, some people find strange. Doesn't everyone want to know about the Mexican Peso Crisis of 1994?

Favorite movies include Sunset Boulevard, Office Space, and Don Juan DeMarco. Film noir and black comedies are usually a good bet for me.

On TV, I love, love The Wire (the best show of all time) and watch Law and Order, The Daily Show, and The Colbert Report regularly. I recently discovered Modern Family.

In music, I focus on jazz, with John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, and Sun Ra being particular favorites.

I'm fond of Lebanese food and cheesecake.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually taking it easy, relaxing at home, sometimes watching a movie with my former neighbor and newest best friend. With some friends married and others scattered to the ‘burbs, most of my weekend happens on Saturday and Sunday and usually involves long brunches with friends. (I suppose the upside is that my Fridays are already cleared out for you!). Malcolm X Park on Sunday afternoons in good weather is a given.

The rest of the week, I'm trying new things. In the past year or so I've taken classes on drawing, golf, kayaking, dancing, and boxing. I'm getting back into running, but progress has been slow. I usually have some random self-improvement project going, as I'm a personal growth junkie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I recently got braces, for the first time ever (not pictured).
I’m looking for
  • Straight girls only
  • Ages 35–44
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating
You should message me if
You are curious, cultured, lighthearted, and affectionate and looking for a thoughtful and intelligent man with some character. You know your own heart and follow it.