Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Anagrams

39 M Beltsville, MD

My Details

Last Online
Jul 19, 2007
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 4″ (1.93m)
Body Type
Skinny
Diet
Smokes
Yes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Libra, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hi -- I'm Darren.

Let's see... I'm a 6'4", 200-lb, 31-year-old Canadian grad student in Philosophy. In other words: precious little money; lots and lots of books. I'm a horror-movie junkie, live alone, and have an overweight cat named Chicklet. (When I write it down like this, my life just doesn't seem so exciting.) I'm a grammar nazi, but I love people who use good words in day-to-day conversation.

I'm not religious, but I'm open-minded, spiritually-speaking. I have friends who are Catholics, friends who are Jewish, friends who are Wiccan, and a friend who's a Buddhist monk. I like to engage the religious in conversation about their beliefs.

I'm not athletic (as attempting to be such tends to land me in the hospital), but I can accurately throw a football 60+ yards, and on a good day, I can slam-dunk a basketball. I keep a baseball glove, ball, and bat, and a football, in my trunk, should the need arise. I own a bowling ball. When it comes to sports, I'd rather DO than WATCH -- and I would much rather watch a movie on TV than sports (except for given events in the Olympics).

Being a grad student, I tend to spend equal time (a) reading, and (b) avoiding reading. I like a good novel, but I tend to be obsessive once I start reading one, and neglect my work as a result. The VAST majority of my books are non-fiction, and I relish my bookshelf of reference books (I used to be an editor -- I own at least a dozen dictionaries -- British, American, and Canadian.)

I'm apolitical (or, at best, a political centrist), agnostic, and will soon have more letters after my name than in it.

Jobs I've held: * Philosophy instructor * Editor (both periodicals and textbooks) * Professional comic-book critic * Copywriter * Graphic artist

I am tall, freaky-smart, and odd
What I’m doing with my life
Grad school in Philosophy, having quit a perfectly good job two years ago. This makes me (a) ambitious; (b) poor. In the event that you care, I focus on aesthetics (philosophy of art) and metaphysics (er... philosophy of 'stuff'). I also do some copywriting and graphic art. Every so often I teach a course. When I can find the time, I work on writing my book. Let's just say I keep busy.
I’m really good at
Writing, drawing, talking, listening, analyzing things, oral sex, bowling. No, seriously.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall. And I look like someone they know/someone from a movie/a relative. It's rarely ever the same person.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Jesus... what a list. Here's the short version:

(a) The OED, A Prayer for Owen Meany, Ficciones, Plato's Republic, Lord of the Flies, Be True to Your School, Dracula, The Griffin & Sabine Trilogy, Tuesdays with Morrie, The Zombie Survival Guide, It's a Good Life if You Don't Weaken, Paul Auster's City of Glass, Stuck Rubber Baby, Uzumaki, V for Vendetta

(b) 28 Days Later, Amelie, Jacob's Ladder, Some Kind of Wonderful, The Last Supper, The Outsiders, Stealing Home, Night of the Living Dead, Suspiria

(c) Sarah Harmer, Nick Drake, Beastie Boys, Eva Cassidy, IZ, Fleetwood Mac, Elvis, Neil Diamond, P-Funk, Wide Mouth Mason, White Stripes, George Thorogood, Dance Hall Crashers, B-52's, Ministry, Skinny Puppy, Electric Six, Violent Femmes

(d) Honestly, I like to mix it up. That said, beverages are easier... good coffee (particularly Tim Hortons, when I can get it), Guinness, fresh OJ, Coke, Dr. Pepper, single-malt scotch.
The six things I could never do without
Books. Yeah, that's pretty much it. And probably not any PARTICULAR books. I just need ACCESS to books.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Philosophy, sex. That's what grad school does to you.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either out with friends, or at home reading, or watching a movie, or kidnapping hobos.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 26–64
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
You feel any inclination to do so.

Fair warning: there are things I TEND to be attracted to -- body types, interests, heights, hair colour, etc., but I shan't list these here, because I find, in particular circumstances, I'm attracted to all sorts of people, many of whom fall well outside what I TEND to be attracted to. I like passionate people -- it doesn't so much matter WHAT you're passionate about, so long as you're passionate about something. There is only one deal-breaker: you have to be intelligent. This doesn't necessarily line up with education (I know some extremely intelligent people who didn't go past -- or even to -- university), nor is it restricted to WHAT you're interested in (in many cases, I'd prefer to LEARN something from you than spend time talking about those things we both know a lot about). But you need to have a good brain -- there's no bigger turn-on for me than a good brain.