Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Andy___W

32 M San Mateo, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 26–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 5:23pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Asian
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Chinese (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Grew up in Vancouver, was a plant evolutionary ecologist. Left grad school when they stopped paying me. Recently moved to the bay area working for a telecommunications company. Then got scooped up by a tech company in a totally different area, so now working out of SF. This area is so crazy with the job opportunities!

Loves bluegrass, folk and celtic music. Am an avid mandolin player.

Addicted to movies. Especially the old black and white ones. They don't make 'em like they used to.

I enjoy road cycling and a variety of outdoor activities (sea kayaking, rock climbing, camping). Much of these developed while I was in grad school, being a biologist and all. I still can't believe I used to repel off of cliffs and kayak among islands for work. Giving all that up wasn't easy. I love fresh air and long hikes. Sunsets and sunrises are awesome.

I'm the type to go after my dreams. I take life by the horns and never look back.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a data scientist. It's a rather ambiguous term because there are so many different types of data scientists. I recently got into professional social network data after a stint working on cellphone network stuff which is actually a lot of fun. I code, I munge and I visualize.

Amateur chef, throws dinner gatherings because I love to try new cooking techniques and new food. Recently in a traditional French phase.

On weekends I can be found grovelling up some hills in the peninsula or near Sausalito. Road riding here is simply amazing!

In my down time I play the mandolin (mostly bluegrass, traditional Sicilian, blues).
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Riding a bike on cobbles, making omelettes (and frittatas), baking creme brule (my mother taught me, claiming that without that skill I'd be hopeless in attracting anyone), getting gifts, setting up belay stations, flipping someone else's kayak just by looking at it, taking pictures of fire hydrants and writing travel letters with hand drawn maps.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
The dimples. Got two. One from mom (left side) and one from dad (right side).

That I'm always carrying a camera, usually an old mechanical film camera. The addiction for cameras runs in my family.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Love bluegrass. Plays a mandolin, fiddle and erhu.

Currently listening to Sierra Hull, the Three Ring Circle, and Jamie Mansfield + MaMaVig. Jonathan Coulton for when I'm at work, and a lot of Miles Davis and Coltrain in the evenings.

A movie addict... I end up watching everything, even rather middling films. I usually look for great cinematography. Casablanca. Maltese Falcon. St Elmo's fire. Oh the 80s...

TV shows - Foyle's War, Breaking Bad, Vikings, Revolution, Falling Skies, White Collar, Pan Am, Walking Dead, Hustle, Castle, Suits, Game of Thrones, Firefly, Rome.

Loves all kinds of food, but currently in a traditional French phase. Can make kickass sushi and udon.

And then of course I love dystopian novels, movies and photography. Love brutalist architecture. Equilibrium anyone?

Oh and I have a decided weakness for art deco fixtures.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My bike, mandolin, fiddle, camera, glasses, tea - earl grey - hot - strong bergamont infusion.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How light falls and cascades on objects. Data visualization for telling interesting stories. How geeks can save the world. Drag coefficient of my bicycle. How much my drag coefficient doesn't matter. And what to have for dinner.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Having a dram with coworkers / friends while making dinner together. I love cooking with a group.

In the summer, I rest up early on Friday nights, in prep for a long day in the saddle saturday morning with the group ride.

Though some days I just hole up at home with a great movie, home-made pizza (pizza stones are absolutely mandatory), a decent wine, blanket with foot pockets and just unwind.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Sometimes I sit in coffee shop and people watch. I'd make up conversations between people and make it really outrageous or really inappropriate. I do this at airport lounges as well... when waiting around for things to happen (like getting to sit in an aluminum tube of joy), this appears to be the most entertaining thing to do.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I'm very openminded about meeting people. I don't judge, to a fault. If you're into bluegrass, or at least is curious, that'd be a lot of fun. If you play an instrument, likes to chat about interesting topics (eg, social justice, urban infrastructure, public transit, laws, secret baking techniques, to confit or not, Mac vs PC, ...). I love chatting with interesting people and who knows where that'll take us. Also if you're into going for a bike ride (can be lycra clad for a long road ride or just city riding).