Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

notincuneiform

37 Chicago, IL Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 25–42
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My Details

Last Online
Today – 10:53am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Judaism
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$60,000–$70,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Mostly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English, French, Ancient Greek, Hebrew, Other

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
After several years jumping from one city to the next, I'm thrilled to be back in Chicago teaching literature and philosophy to college students at my alma mater. The rest of my time is taken up reading cookbooks, hosting dinner parties, conversing over beers with friends, going to see old movies, and not getting around to writing my book about religion and politics in ancient world.

I'm looking for someone to browse bookstores with, to go to flea markets with, to go to farmers markets with, to cook with, to smoke shisha with, to talk with, to relax with, to sleep with. Introduce me to what makes your world fantastic. If you're bookish, that's great; if excel in emotional intelligence, even better.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
"What should I be doing? Eating kreplech?"
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Friendship. Hosting dinner parties. Hanging pictures.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Some stuff I've been reading on the subway recently includes Marilynne Robinson's "Gilead" (the best book I've ever read about Protestant ministers in Iowa), Edmund Wilson's "To the Finland Station," Virginia Woolf's "A Room of One's Own," Amos Oz's "A Tale of Love and Darkness," and The Ramayana. I re-read The Great Gatsby every time I am called for jury duty. (UPDATE: This paragraph was written while I was still commuting between Brooklyn and Manhattan; I now must drive to work.)

Movies I grew up on include The Great Muppet Caper (age 4), Blazing Saddles (daily from age 6 to 10), Manhattan (age 16 to 19), Amadeus and Metropolitan (19-21). After college I moved to Paris to study philosophy but dropped out after a semester in order to watch two or three old movies a day in the Latin Quarter cinemas---it was a better education.

Top Chef and The West Wing allow me to imagine two career paths I didn't take.

Bach and black coffee set my head straight in the morning. Rameau is good for writing. Mozart and Da Ponte wrote my favorite operas. I appreciate Thelonious Monk's braininess and Lightnin' Hopkins' honesty. My dad played lots of French music when I was growing up: I still listen to Jacques Brel while riding trains in the Low Countries and was psyched to attend an Enrico Macias concert in New York the day I finished writing my dissertation. I will stand by Guns n Roses. Daniel Kahn revealed to me what Brecht is all about. And the Baby Soda Jazz Band is just pure fun. Surely you know of bands I've never heard of---please introduce me!

I like noodles and dumplings in all forms and am excited to be living again where there are taquerias. (Extra points if there is a hole-in-the-wall restaurant you want to share with me, or if you want to go search for one together.)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Bookshelves, conversations at Jimmy's, Mimi's pizza, revival movie theaters, black coffee, and morning sex. I could live without argyle socks, but why should I have to?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How to live a flourishing human life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Not in shul, unless I'm in the Mission.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
If I have kids, I'd like to raise them Jewish (and then introduce them to Socrates at their Bar or Bat Mitzvah).
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you think it is cooler to introduce me to the things that excite you in life than write me off because I haven't listed them above yet. And you expect the same from me.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!