Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Attentive_lad

58 Ottawa, Ontario, CA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 35–64
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 3:41am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 5″ (1.95m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Cancer, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Has dogs
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hello and thanks for stopping by. I have been on here for several months now, chatted with a number of people and actually met a couple.
So, now I think it's time to do a bit of editing.

My profile is a bit on the long side and it seems that sometimes people don't read the whole thing before approaching me. So for some added clarity, I am going to move the next section to the top:

You should be aware that my sexual interests lean towards the non-traditional: I am very much into ""kink"" aspects of sexual behaviour along the lines of that recent blockbuster 50 Shades of Grey, although I see myself more as Ana than Christian Grey. So, you should know how to spell ""BDSM"", how to get what you want and which end of the crop to hold in order to be compatible with me. More detail can be discussed in private.

When I feel a connection with someone, I am fiercely loyal, and would expect you to be also. I am intelligent, I enjoy debate, discussion of ideas and current events and try to keep myself open to alternative viewpoints.

I tend to be patient, even tempered, slow to anger and I usually start off shy & quiet, but can quickly accelerate to 60 mph when a topic gets me excited. I’m hard working and financially stable (this means I have a job, I pay the bills and manage my obligations).

I consider myself to be a multi-talented individual, good at many things. Generally if something interests me, I will learn about it and start to become good at it. I am very inquisitive and like to know how things work. I have a knack that allows me to fix most anything and have been described as having McGiver-like talents based on an ability to improvise in almost any situation. Having a high IQ probably aids me in this area.
As a youngster, my dad was in the military so I grew up on army bases. Moving from base to base caused me to be a bit on the shy side – so don’t be afraid of being a bit aggressive. I will actually appreciate it.
INTJ for those who are interested in MB types.

Although I was educated in Catholic schools, I am not all that interested in organized religion although I can still appreciate some of the pageantry of the Catholic Church.

I am very much non-macho. I have no need or desire to strut machismo in order to impress anyone. When it comes to sayings like ”I like my whiskey straight, my coffee black, my beer dark and my women feisty”, umm, I like milk in my coffee, I don’t really care for whiskey or beer for that matter, and my women… well that’s a different story. I am often attracted to quirkiness and the unusual in people and situations.

I like to laugh and joke and I think that I have a good sense of humour. It is often referred to as dry and witty by those who are amused or as sarcastic and inappropriate by those not so impressed.

I have been living in Ottawa for quite a few years now and have come to like the mix of small town and large city that Ottawa provides. Prior to my time in Ottawa, I lived in Montreal for 10 years.

I have worked at the management level in technology related industries for what often seems like more years than I’d like to remember.

Physically, I am tall, slim and in good shape. I enjoy participating in sports such as basketball, cycling and running where I’ll be doing another 10K at the end of the month. I look good in a suit, jeans or birthday suit. :-)

I am single, have been separated for 6 years and share my living space with a couple of teenagers on a part-time basis.

Musically I have very eclectic tastes but tend to drift towards rock music of the 70’s & 80’s. I also like Blues, Jazz and Classical. I don’t care much for C&W or Rap and I find most pop music I hear today rather tedious although I like Lady Gaga for her style and music.
My primary listening source - KEF 105 (bonus points available, hint – it’s not a radio station)

I don’t watch much TV on a regular basis so I tend to binge watch when I stumble across something I like. Recently I have enjoyed shows like “Breaking Bad”, “Sons Of Anarchy”, ”Game Of Thrones”, “Boardwalk Empire” and am currently binging on “24” which I never watched in its original incarnation.

While I not a huge sports TV fan, I will watch a period of hockey now and then or a football game on Sunday afternoon while folding laundry.

When not binge watching, I also enjoy a wide variety of movies, both at home or in the cinema and/or live theatre. Sometimes that’s the latest comic book blockbuster or it could just as easily be a smaller more thoughtful film or a romantic comedy. The only constant is variety. Take note that there is a good possibility that will I cry during sad movies or even sometimes when the guy gets the girl at the end. Aside from the entertainment value, I also appreciate film as an art form. The first time I see a movie it’s mostly for entertainment and to let the director pull me along. On subsequent viewings, I still enjoy the story but am much more interested in looking at techniques and construction of the film.

I love dining on Asian, Sushi and Italian and enjoy cooking and trying new recipes. I like the whole meal experience, the shopping, the prep, the cooking and of course the eating!

I don’t care for video games mostly because I am lousy at them. I do, however like board games and card games and have been known to play a little low stakes poker in a friendly environment. I am not a big gambler, though and if I go to the casino I might put a few bucks into the slot machines, but mostly I am more interested in the odds and peoples’ reactions, than winning or losing money.

I don’t like most amusement rides since they scare the heck out of me. Bumper cars (almost like the Queensway) is about as adventurous as I would get at the EX or elsewhere.
I spend some of my time playing around with computers which I suppose jives with my work environment. I have built and rebuilt several systems and have also spent time refurbishing vintage audio equipment.

I like to go fishing once or twice a year and I am not opposed to hiking but sleeping on the ground holds no attraction for me. Although I know how to take care of myself, I am not much of an outdoorsman simply because I don’t care for it much. A cheap motel is about as rough as I care for.

When reading for pleasure I tend towards Science Fiction (SF or SciFi? More bonus available here). I grew up on Heinlein, Asimov, Clarke, and even E.R. Burroughs . I tend to prefer hard SF ala Larry Niven (Ringworld, etc.) but there is room for Fantasy in my collection also. I have a large collection of paperbacks and books lining the shelves in my basement.

Some of all time favs are, in no particular order:
Dune
Ender’s Game
Lord of Light
The Moon is a Harsh Mistress
LOTR which I originally read when I was 13
The Stainless Steel Rat
And about a thousand others….
I remember getting my first Judith Merrill SF collection also when I was about 13 which concentrated on what was then known as New Wave. I very vividly recall that some of the stories actually had…. wait for it… sex! as a component. I was a bit shocked but more intrigued and couldn’t figure out if I could read this in plain daylight or had to hide in my room.

Let me conclude by saying for the most part I am not a rigid personality and for every aspect of my personality or character that I mention there will be numerous exceptions based on situations, timing and just how I feel at that moment. As you read this, I suggest you keep in mind that I don’t expect your list of interests to match mine. If it did, how would I grow? There should probably be some points in common, for sure, but I always consider myself open to new experiences and ideas and if you have a particular interest with which I am unfamiliar I’d love to explore it with you.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Trying to live it
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Many things with McGiver-like talents
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My height
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Movie favs - The Godfather, Citizen Kane, Planes Trains & Automobiles
Books - Dune, Ender's Game
Music - Blues, rock, Jazz, classical...Country-not
Food - Oriental, sushi, pasta
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Quality health care comes to mind.
Chocolate.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
What I want to be when I grow up
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Well it depends...
... on weeks where my kids are with me, we are probably in some fast food restaurant that they love (and I loathe). Friday night is Kids' choice night.
... on the other weeks, Friday night is "relax from the week night" and could be spent watching a movie, listening to music or surfing the web.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You feel any sort of connection