Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

BKLadySam

28 F Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Jul 26
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Sometimes
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Pisces, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Law
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm Sam, I live in Brooklyn, and I'm looking for a partner in crime. If you're not interested in the prospect of getting serious, then you should probably move on to the next profile.

I'm really into entertainment/pop culture - especially music and television - we live in a golden age of TV, am I right?? I'm also really into not taking life too seriously - a good sense of humor is a must. I try to make light of almost everything. Not to say I don't get serious or emotional at times but mostly I'd rather be laughing. I really want to do more exploring in New York and especially in Brooklyn.

I love brunch, yoga (although on a bit of a yoga hiatus for the time being), going to see live music, and spending time outside when the weather is nice. I signed up to do a half marathon in September, so I guess I'm a "runner" now. I also sometimes like to play guitar and sing songs (not always at the same time). I'm kind of a social chameleon. When I leave my house, I like to be fully prepared for any direction that my day will take me in, even if that means carrying around way too much random shit with me. I have not seen enough sunrises in my life.

I'm still trying to figure it all out.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a trademark and copyright lawyer at a small firm in Midtown. Ultimately I'd like to work in the media and entertainment industry. I want to be around creative people.
I’m really good at
Yoga, grammar, being empathetic. Finding humor and silver linings in shitty situations. I'm pretty good at cooking - that's pretty much my only domestic skill.

I'm really good at giving advice to other people, but somehow can never seem to figure out the right answers to my own problems.

I'm getting better at going with the flow.

I'm not so good at making decisions.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have no idea. My glasses I guess? You'll have to tell me. Also, people have often told me that I appear taller than I actually am.

I recently fractured both wrists (yay snowboarding) so at the moment, the first thing you may notice about me is my cast - although it's actually not THAT noticeable. Until you try to shake my hand.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Listing these things kind of goes back to the "being bad at making decisions" issue (see above)...

I get pretty obsessed with any book I'm reading (kinda goes for TV shows too). I will read pretty much anything but I really love fiction, and especially fantasy/sci-fi and historical fiction. But I think a lot of contemporary stuff is great too. I recently read Infinite Jest and am pretty sure that David Foster Wallace is the most talented artist of all time.

I watch a LOT of TV and I definitely get pretty bingey on whatever's hot at the moment but a few of my favorites are Game of Thrones, Battlestar Galactica, Arrested Development, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, etc. There are many shows that are on my list to watch soon. I strongly dislike: Two and a Half Men (obviously), That 70s Show, and The Big Bang Theory. Also not really into reality tv or sports.

I don't think I can choose a favorite movie. I like so many. I like movies that evoke an emotional reaction. I do not like being scared or grossed out; I do like to laugh and cry. I guess I like "indie" movies a lot (Little Miss Sunshine-style). I like going to the movies, but I hardly ever get the chance.

I'm into almost all kinds of music but especially indie/alt rock and folk rock. Some recent favorites include Bon Iver, the Lumineers, Local Natives, the Arcade Fire, etc... The Shins didn't change my life, but the Garden State soundtrack did. And I love being introduced to new music. Lately I'm into more poppy electronic-ish stuff (St. Lucia, Cults, Lucius, The Naked & Famous). I'll listen to anything at least once.

I love food! All of it. Let's eat.
The six things I could never do without
Food, water, the internet. Other humans (ones I like, preferably), mascara, and cute shoes. Maybe a blanket or a sweater. Also probably underwear. A toothbrush?

Orbit gum (the dark blue one)!

I think this question is a little silly.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What to order. Whether I'd rather stay in bed binge watching [insert current TV obsession] or going out and living in the real world. Whether I'll ever pay off my student loans (HAHAHAHAHA). Lots of important things
On a typical Friday night I am
happy that it's Friday. Otherwise, it varies.

Starting in June, my typical Friday night will consist of playing kickball/drinking in Central Park, so that's consistent I guess.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I was about 12, my two best friends and I used to choreograph and perform dances to pop songs. Our premiere was a dance to Britney's "Hit Me Baby One More Time" at a bat mitzvah; we also later did one to N'Sync's "Bye Bye Bye" at a school fashion show. I don't actually find this to be THAT embarrassing. No shame.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 27–33
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You are kind of a nerd; if you love food (especially brunch); if you have an inappropriate sense of humor; and if you can challenge me and teach me new things. And it would be nice if you were a thoughtful, caring, non-flaky person, looking for a relationship that could become serious.

Ideally, you should live in Brooklyn or lower Manhattan.