Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

BaconVonBacon

33 M El Paso, TX

My Details

Last Online
Today – 10:12am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Working on university
Job
Construction
Income
$20,000–$30,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Has dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm starting to feel like this list is getting stagnant. I'm about to gut my whole profile and start again. Here's what I've got right now, though:

I'm Jess. I have a wide range of interests.

I read. A lot. A WHOLE lot. I have literally sat down to read 'a little bit' before going out on a Friday night, only to find myself staring at Saturday morning when I finish. My kindle is as full as my bookshelf.

I am music obsessed. I don't listen to much in the way of top 40 anything, but my musical tastes are quite varied. I love Americana, Prog Rock, Freak Folk, Bluegrass, and Indie Rock. The way to my heart is definitely through my headphones.

If you want witty banter, sarcasm, or long-winded stories, you've come to the right man. I can ramble endlessly, weave tangents into a web of a story, and keep a conversation going all night.

I am not a tofu-eating, soy-drinking, velvet-wearing, milk-in-my-coffee Girl Scout Nancy-boy. I am a meat-eating man's man, a modern-day renaissance man; when I work, I sweat, I bleed, and I love every single minute of it. In this day and age, this comes with a stigma, like I'm some sort of woman-hating, wife-beating alcoholic with the emotional range of a hammer.

I assure you, I am not a hammer. What I am is a man who has embraced his masculinity. If you want to meet a guy with moist skin and dyed hair who cries a lot, you're in the wrong place. I will not join the throngs of neutered men who can't tell a carburetor from a radiator.

I am fiercely loyal, protective, generous, and dependable. If you want to trade that for a guy who exfoliates, I won't stop you.

Do not, however, take any of this to mean I am sexist or in any way misogynistic. I am all about equality for all, regardless of gender or sexual orientation or whatever. So, when I hold a door for you, I'm just being polite, not implying that you're weak. I'm just being nice.

At the risk of sounding like an alcoholic, yes, I drink. I do not, however, binge drink like a Friday night frat boy. I prefer establishments with good beer, good ambiance, and good conversation. The kind of place where my gesticulating wildly to someone I just met in the bar line would be a welcome sight, not a strange one.

I definitely prefer quality over quantity. Intellectual exchange is far more important than the alcohol intake.

The exact same holds true of establishments that serve good coffee. Or at least decent coffee with free refills.

That said, I am a named hasher with the local chapter of the Hash House Harriers, the self-styled 'drinking club with a running problem'. It involves a sort of scavenger hunt while running, followed by beer drinking and singing. It's a social activity, and more fun than anything else you're doing on Sunday.

Did anybody actually read this far? If so, I'm impressed.
What I’m doing with my life
Working, writing, and carefully planning many adventures.

And I'm training at El Paso San Soo. It's Kung Fu designed for the street, a functional art the likes of which they teach to law enforcement and military personnel. It's a killer workout, and my inner Viking is roaring.

Also, I just started a new fitness program. I won't bore you with details, but after recovering from some pretty serious injuries, it feels great to be back at it.
I’m really good at
Sliding across vinyl or hardwood floors in my socks. Don't be jealous.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I am obsessed with A Song of Ice and Fire by George RR Martin. It's the series HBO's Game of Thrones is based on, and it is nothing short of mind-boggling. Starship Troopers. The Great Gatsby. Harry Potter. Merle's Door. The Chronicles of Prydain. Good Omens. Crazy Heart.

Music: As I mentioned before, I am a total music junkie. I love Americana, Alt Country, non-pop rock, and pretty much anything of the independent variety. Rock: Dream Theater. Spock's Beard. Paul Thorn. Marillion. The Flower Kings. Transatalantic. Liquid Tension Experimient. The Black Keys. American Blackbelt Academy. The Who. Modest Mouse. Joe Satriani. Ok Go!. Paperwork. My Morning Jacket. Kings of Leon. Country: Roger Creager. Jason Eady. The Trishas. Cory Morrow. Radney Foster. Bruce Robison. Reckless Kelly. Eli Young Band. Bleu Edmondson. Carolina Rain. Zac Brown Band. Kevin Fowler. Cooder Graw. I've also become a huge fan of revival music (not the religious kind), freak folk, and the like. I have a very unhealthy obsession with Mumford and Sons.

Movies: My top 5: Shawshank Redemption, Swingers, High Fidelity, Walk the Line, and Scott Pilgrim Vs The World. Comic book movies are my crack, anything with zombies has a special place in my heart, and Sci Fi might be my favorite thing ever.

TV: There are four shows I go out of my way to watch: Elementary, Castle, Game of Thrones and Mythbusters. Also, The Walking Dead and The Killing on AMC are both worth watching. Mostly, though, I'm a Discovery nerd. And Firefly. I love Firefly.

Food: I don't have a favorite food, really, though when I eat, I try to keep it healthy. Anything spicy goes down easy. I'm teaching myself to cook, and not just follow a recipe. I'm learning to improvise in the kitchen, and I've been surprising myself rather frequently.
The six things I could never do without
1. Exercise.

2. Music, and lots of it.

3. Dogs. My two hyperactive heelers, specifically.

4. Tools. I'm a tool guy. I fix things. I make things. It's what I do.

5. Something to read, be it mindless fun or deep and thought-provoking.

6. Water. And no, I'm not being facetious or anything- I drink so much of it that, when I was a kid, my mom took me to the doctor to have him test to see if I was diabetic. He came back and said "No, he doesn't have diabetes, he's just really, really thirsty."
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My mind is a terrifying vortex of thought. Superman, Carnitas, Paper towels, My DVR, Books, Music, Batman, Film, Batman Films, Zombies, Cleaning my apartment, Work, Play, Beer, Running, My hands, My pants, My dog, My apartment, Work, Sex, Food, Music, What's on TV tonight?, Rubick's Cubes, Science, My truck, Fixing my truck, Austin, San Antonio, Dallas, Working out, My budget, and how if we were all immortal, all the matter in the universe would eventually be people, and then what would we do?
On a typical Friday night I am
Fridays vary a lot for me. I'm a flexible, spontaneous person, so this question offends me a little bit.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've read the Harry Potter series more times than you've seen Twilight.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 18–34
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
I guess this is as close to a "What I'm looking for" section as I'm gonna get.

I'd like to meet someone at least moderately active. You don't have to be a gym rat, but if the hardest exercise you do is getting off the couch to go to the bathroom, we're simply not going to work. I don't get winded going up stairs, you shouldn't either.

Hand in hand with that is someone who loves the outdoors. I'm not doing the Appalachian Trail or anything (though I'd love to someday), but you need to be willing and able to at least hit a day trail with me sometimes. Or even just go with me while I walk my dogs.

Also, I don't feel like I need someone to 'complete' me. I'm a well-rounded, content guy. I don't need a girlfriend, wife, or child to make me 'happy'; I make myself happy.

What I want is someone with whom I can share my journey.

Of course, fellow Sci-Fi geeks, music aficionados, and beer connoisseurs are encouraged to say hello.