Basilblood
33 Millbrook, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Basilblood
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up 25 miles from midtown manhattan. Whereas most people I knew flocked to the city, I retreated to the hills for fresh air, less traffic and more wildlife. While I enjoy the diversity of sites and flavors in cities, I much prefer having access to mountains to hike, ski or snowshoe, lakes to paddle on or swim in, and critters to delight and mystify me. I miss the human diversity, but have you seen the displays of fireflies around here? Knocks my socks off every time...

Beyond the things mentioned above, I spend a lot of time cooking and thinking about food (what's for dinner as well as big picture food sustainability). I often enjoy watching movies, reading, traveling, people watching, and learning.

Depending on the company, I can be quiet or very animated. I like to listen. I like to bring people together for communal meals, to go for a hike, or have some beers and play games (frisbee, board games, etc). I don't like to be the center of attention, but I will do weird and ridiculous things to make people laugh.

I appreciate intelligence, curiosity, humor, affection and compassion, and I have those things to offer.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm an educator/gardener.
I’m really good at
I have a very good visual memory. If we've ever met, I'm likely to remember your face, but probably not your name. Unfortunately, this skill doesn't necessarily help me find my keys...

I will also kick your ass at Chinese checkers.
The first things people usually notice about me
I smile a lot.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books- I do love to read fiction, but you're more likely to find me reading a naturalist's field guide or some other form of non-fiction. One of my favorite works of fiction is the Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. I'm also generally fond of Kurt Vonnegut's works, and I appreciate Mary Roach's morbid curiosity.

Movies- I always enjoy a good dose of dark humor, irreverence and/or cinematic creativity, with minimal explosions. Zombies and Samuri are welcome. Favorites include Coen brothers, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Annie Hall, Moonrise Kingdom, Shaun of the Dead, Super Troopers, Ghost Busters, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Rear Window...

Music- Huge range of interests. Yeasayer and Led Zeppelin have been in heavy rotation lately. Some all time favorites include Neko Case, The Band, The Beatles, Stevie Wonder, Radiohead and Fleet Foxes.

Food- I will try anything at least once. Seriously. Unless it's the still-beating heart of a tortured cobra. Food adventures aside, I like food best when it is simple and fresh.

TV- I love The Wire and Six Feet Under (so, light hearted stuff!). Kids in the Hall, 30 Rock and the Daily Show make me laugh. Just getting into Game of Thrones!
The six things I could never do without
1) Meaningful social interaction
2) Time spent outdoors
3) Affection
4) Laughter
5) Vegetables
6) Music that I can sing along to
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Self improvement, creative pursuits, food and, "will this actually be recycled if I put it in the designated bin?".

...And the driver's seat selfie. Please explain this phenomenon.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing some combination of the following: Laughing, socializing, cooking, eating, relaxing, imbibing, learning, sharing, and not wearing high heels.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Where ever I move, I take my dad's record collection with me. They're f'ing heavy, but I don't think I'll ever give them away. Lots of Jimi Hendrix, ELO, Stones, Zeppelin, Neil Young, etc, in there. And then there's my mom's Bread album. Mom, you're such a square.
You should message me if
If you indulge your curiosities.

If you value kindness.

If you don't mind that I come home from work covered in dirt.

I'm friendly. Let's start a conversation. :)
More