BeardedRomantic
74 Boise, ID
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
BeardedRomantic
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I enjoy living to the fullest, and work at developing both my rational and emotional sides. So I'm a study in contrasts: playful and intellectual, practical and idealistic, a loner who never wants to be totally alone. I laugh easily and often, enjoy long walks to nowhere and long talks to anywhere.

I get along best with women who are independent minded without being controlling ... a rare combination (in both men and women) that I have yet to truly find.

You're self-confident enough to share your inner child. You can be privately passionate, laugh easily, and enjoy being alone together instead of in a crowd. You're a giver or a sharer, not a taker. You have creative or artistic sensitivities (if not an artist), with a passion for life and living.

We can maintain our independent and individual selves without clinging. But when we're alone together we are each other's total universe. An enjoyable weekend might include a lighthearted movie or intense discussion ... or just snuggling with a movie and popcorn ... or a day trip and photo shoot ... or cooking dinner together, and daring to consider a food fight.

Having said all that, I reject the online dating mantra -- evaluating each other as marriage partners from the very first date (or email!). I'm also needing just a few friends to converse and hang out with. I'm that guy you could talk with in high school, and I genuinely enjoy the company of women.

I'm independent but sharing, serious and silly, and, I'm told, comfortable.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a semi-retired small-business consultant and entrepreneur coach. Retirement gives me the freedom to explore and test unfulfilled passions. Two may give you insights to me. I created my first website in 1994, uniquely focused on marketing - persuasion, image or actual selling. As a freelance political writer in 1980, I was mentored by the op-ed editor for Ohio's largest newspaper. I had to set that aside as demands of family our family grew. Family demands grew at about the same pace as our son!

I've been deeply into nature photography, and walked the entire Greenbelt a few years back ... until the arthritis kicked in. I still enjoy the long walks noted above, but I won't be taking any for a while. On a brighter note, you can beat me in a footrace! I haven't lost my voice, so the long talks are still on the table. Let's call it verbal intimacy.

I live near-downtown, very close to the Greenbelt, Morrison and Albertson parks.
I’m really good at
Conversation (both listening and talking)
Problem-solving/negotiating/conflict-resolution
Gin Rummy, Poker, Hearts and Canasta
Intellectual things.
Silly things.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm alive, followed by my eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music MOVES me. My tastes range from 60s-80 oldies on the computer, Andrea Bocelli and Pavarotti on the stereo, and 107.1 on the radio. When Bryan Adams played Boise a few years back, I stood for the entire concert. Likewise Bette Midler, a few years before that.

I'm very partial to French cuisine, having lived and worked in Canada for a few years.

Movies are all over the lot. Drama, comedy and romantic comedy all seem able to engage me. One common theme: triumphs of the human spirit, in all its many forms.

My latest read, outside politics and business was a re-read of Mike Dooley's "from the Universe" books. I enjoy his attitude, a rare combination of both optimism and realism -- which is how I like to see myself.
The six things I could never do without
Conversation
Optimism
So many fond memories.
Music
Dreams
My computer
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Self-improvement, self-motivation, optimism, I'm also a recovering Type A (kinda) :-)
And (sorry) how both political parties have backed us into a corner with no clue how to get us out. THAT is why they attack each other. They have very little positive to offer.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading or watching a rented movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Making love with my wife (at the time), outdoors, naked, in a child's wading pool, after dark but a neighborhood with no fences ... 75 feet behind the house. (We ran there naked ... and sober.)
You should message me if
If you'd like to learn more about me and share some things about yourself in quiet conversation, do not require something serious, and enjoy just sharing time and interests with someone.
More