Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

BeerAndBonsai

26 M Seattle, WA

My Details

Last Online
Jun 12, 2013
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.76m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Education
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English, Hebrew (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Born 'n raised in North Carolina, had a brief (one year) layover in Texas, and finally made it all the way out to Seattle (Nope, no accent—and I'm not really a ‘good ol' boy’). Since moving here I've found I have quite the enthusiasm for karaoke. Also, having regular access to good beers on tap has been a pleasant eye-opener.

In Texas my group of friends and I roller skated (like, old school quads) between bars on Fridays, and I honestly miss it. Seattle is too hilly and pothole-y. I do miss Texas-style kolaches: they're delicious in a have-a-heart-attack southern kind of way.

I'm a time-starved musician. I got a bass for my 13th brithday and never looked back; I was lucky enough to go to a high school that had "classical guitar" and "jazz quartet" as electives instead of "home ec" and "typing" which cemented playing music as a passion for me.

Junior year of high school a small single-employee record shop opened up. The guy who worked there was like the wise old sage of indie records (despite being not-old). We built a rapport over time; I would go every week, tell him what I was listening to at the time, what I liked, what I didn't want to hear. He would go "hmmm..." and stroke his giant indie beard and, after a few moments, pull one CD out of the rows and rows that lined to store. He'd put it in his 5-disk changer behind the counter, skip a handful of tracks, and then we'd listen to the song he picked. And it was amazing. Every. Single. Time. He gave me an appreciation for music I never thought I'd like, and taught me the satisfaction of discovering a new favorite band.

INTP
What I’m doing with my life
I went to school for Math and CS, but I cut that effort a bit short in favor of having a job (versus student debt). A couple job changes later I'm here in Seattle writing software (shock!) for a very large company (shock!), although probably not the one you're thinking of.
My long-term goal is to have my own small software company (possibly education-related), but there are quite a few steps left along that path.

I've had a couple failed band attempts in Seattle, and this most recent musical dry spell has been long enough that I'm starting to try and figure out what my next effort will be.

I will play the Cat's Cradle one day. It is not an option.

I am in a relationship with the amazing SaganInTheRain. We are not monogamous but we are committed to each other, so my relationship with her isn't up for negotiation. :)
I’m really good at
Helping you find new awesome music.
Telling computers what to do.
Making a fool of myself at karaoke.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hair. Or lack thereof, depending. It has moods, I'm not in complete control there.

Depending on time and location I'm either slightly stoic and wry, or I'm the guy head banging on rollerskates at a metal show (yes, this a true story). Alternately, I've been called an "old soul". I have a tendency towards being very logical. OkCupid calls my personality "more scientific", which seems apt.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: Pi, The Iron Giant, Wristcutters: A Love Story, Mystery Men, Wild Strawberries, Princess Mononoke, Moon.

Music: My absolute favorite band of all time is the Dismemberment Plan. Also, Torche, Duke Ellington, Pelican, The Future of the Left, Mingus, Les Savy Fav, Cursive, Russian Circles, Erik Satie, Why?, Cake, etc...

I can be a bit hypercritical about music, but it's not genre-based. I'll listen to most anything if I'm in the right mood.

TV: I've recently become a big fan of Community. Top Gear and Good Eats are my other two favorites.

Books: A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, When You Are Engulfed in Flames, The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy (all of 'em), The Wind Up Bird Chronicle (Or most any Murakami).
The six things I could never do without
1. Science/Logic
2. Music (playing)
3. Music (listening)
4. Pike/Pine
5. Coffee
6. Things with wheels
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Why is it so hard to use technology effectively for education? Why are computers in school cheesy and not awesome?

How do I get these sounds and licks and concepts that're in my head onto (metaphorical) tape?
On a typical Friday night I am
At a show. Or at a bar on the hill, bullshitting with friends and trying to to talk them into playing pool.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I sometimes think that I'd rather just be a blacksmith, or some other form of skilled, manual laborer. Just as long as it doesn't involve goats. Goats have square pupils and it freaks me out.

I legitimately enjoy kale.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–28
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating
You should message me if
You want to catch that one band that's coming through town.
You want to play some music. or some pool.
You have a favorite proof.