Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Ben_Anders

24 M Venice, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:11am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
6′ 6″ (1.98m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, and very serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Retired
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

What I’m doing with my life
I just finished an M.A in History. at The New School for Social Research in New York City, and have returned home to sunny California to spend time with family briefly before beginning a PhD program. Right now, I teach part time at a West LA private high school and write for a website on literature. I am applying for, and hoping to go on to take, a PhD in Philosophy and intellectual history after teaching and reconnecting with my family in LA this year. In the meantime I'm trying to stay healthy, and not get too depressed by my newspaper addiction. I'm also sober, which means I have a lot more fun being alive than I once did, not the other way around.
I’m really good at
Writing, thinking, being there for the people I love and depending upon them in return.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall, so if you're looking for an excuse to buy those new high heels I just might be your guy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love literature, and am finally reading fiction again. My favorite novelists are Tolstoy, Faulkner, Virginia Wolf, Marcel Proust, Dostoyevsky, Saul Bellow, Marilynne Robinson, Cormac McCarthy, Gustave Flaubert, Toni Morrison, and Thomas Mann. I've gone through periods of reading Hegel, Schelling, and German Idealism, as well developing as an interest in Neoplatonism and early Christian authors (particularly: Plotinus, John Scotus Eurigina, and Pseudo Dionysius), Islamic and Renaissance thought. Lately, I've also become more interested in contemporary physics and theoretical biology, and have been reading Stephen Hawking, Edward O. Wilson, and Richard Feynman to that end. I'm also a big fan of clean and lucid historical writing about any period (Tony Judt, Mark Mazower, Ernst Kantorowicz, Peter Brown, Eric Hobsbawm). I enjoy films from the great "anti-hero" period of the late 60s and 70s (Chinatown, Taxi Driver, The Graduate, etc.).
The six things I could never do without
My friends.
Coffee.
Some more coffee.
The Gym
.....Orbit Peppermint gum?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The Sino-US trade deficit and how it will be altered by the onslaught of nanotechnology, whether I should invest in Facebook now that its only $19 per share, how to reconcile a commitment to love and be loved with a commitment to a universal politics of love, a good inexpensive place to eat.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hopefully something that involves laughter.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My index toe is longer than my big toe.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 18–38
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
--it seems like a good idea?

--the idea that I don't drink does not make you wonder what we would do together for fun.

--you are kind.