Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Blashimov

26 Houston, TX Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 20–28
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Jul 28
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Rather not say
Status
Open relationship
Type
Mostly non-monogamous
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Russian (Okay)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm in an open polyamorous relationship with Nordic_lady.

I moved to Houston fall 2011 for graduate school in environmental engineering at Rice. I grew up in Virginia, though, near D.C. I love science, reading, and learning in general, so college was awesome for me, and I think grad school is too. I like to explore, and will often take a different path just to see what's there. I prefer walking/running/biking to driving as a personal preference, but I am also an avid supporter of environmental conservation. When I have a quiet moment, I like to read, and if I want to go out I go dancing, swing, blues, waltz, salsa, or I'll learn something new. I'm still working on my drawing skills, which are pretty bad right now, on the other hand, I joined the Yale Russian Chorus, so my singing has definitely gotten better! I took some lessons beforehand, because I couldn't match pitch when I started college. Since I spoke Russian though, I had an easier time than a few people in the chorus. I liked singing and hearing some different tones; you can get a good idea of what I mean here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TrvE_LWY4Tk) or on the site, albeit very outdated: http://www.yalerussianchorus.com/live/
Learning to sing was on my "sometime this decade" to-do list, which is a thing that I have and take seriously. Currently working on learning a martial art, namely Aikido at Rice.

Always optimistic. I love physical activity, whether running, dancing, or sword fighting (hokey old website ahoy http://www.yale.edu/freeduel/public_html/). I enjoy reading about new science technology, politics, and other news. I may spontaneously relate something I've heard recently.

I once had my fortune told for a charitable donation. After mediocre financial success and a series of relatively poor relationships, I would get married, enjoy a few years, and be divorced, all in my 40's before dying of some heart disease in my 50's. Worst. Fortune. EVER. :P

I have been told I laugh in my sleep.
I like The Environment, Politics, Science, Science Fiction, Fantasy.

I am optimistic, energetic, and imaginative.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Taking classes and doing research takes up much of the day, and I've been doing some tutoring.

I also ran/assisted in a few clubs, the Freestyle Dueling Association, Nexus, Swing and Blues as the main ones, but I've been known to head to Anime Society once and while. I just got into waltzing a few years ago, but mostly doing Swing in Houston. Te, House of Tea, on Saturdays.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Academics of all sorts. I must admit it's my best skill. Other than that, I'm in decent shape and good at most sports and athletics.

Apparently I also make a good babysitter and tutor (different demographics). I like spending time with kids.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I am always smiling, and will hold the door for you if I get there first. I'm not shy about introducing myself and striking up a conversation if I have something to say, though I often leave "small talk" moments silent.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I really like science fiction and fantasy, but I enjoy many genres, and I couldn't begin to list my favorite books and movies, because I like so many of them equally.

I prefer rock music, but lately I've been on a soundtrack kick (Howard Shore and Zimmerman type stuff).

I must say I don't have a discerning palate, and most food tastes good to me. I do enjoy a rare steak though, I think that may be my favorite food.

In case you hate the general answer and want specifics:

Books: Science Fiction/Fantasy: Lightish reading, such as Honor Harrington, classics (Aasimov), Mists of Avalon, Dragonlance, LotR

Nonfiction: The Strange Case of the Broad Street Pump: John Snow and the Mystery of Cholera, various politics, behavioral economics / cogsci (went on a kick after reading Freakonomics, like you do).

Many things can be found on the internet:
http://qntm.org/index?index
https://m.fanfiction.net/s/10360716/1/The-Metropolitan-Man
http://luminous.elcenia.com
http://pactwebserial.wordpress.com
https://parahumans.wordpress.com/table-of-contents/
https://m.fanfiction.net/s/8096183/1/Harry-Potter-and-the-Natural-20
Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality fanfic HPMOR

Movies: Serenity, Forest Gump, Planet Earth, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Hotel Rwanda, Shawshank Redemption, Many Many Others so I gave up on this list. .

TV Shows: Scifi Channel, Heroes, Battlestar, Stargate, Star Trek, Avatar the Last Airbender and Korra, The Office, 30 Rock .
Music: Green Day, classics like American Pie, Katyusha, the Spirit soundtrack...eclectic.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Cliche but honest: loved ones, and there's more than 6 so I'll stop there.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Fantastical adventures, great ideas, the problems with the world, how to solve the problems with the world, what would entertain the people I'm with/what would they like to hear about. I often wonder what the future holds.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
out dancing, reading, or playing games.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I once put water on a hot light bulb to watch it sizzle/see what would happen. It exploded. I told my parents it wasn't me.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You just want some company, like casual athletics, climbing trees, talking about books, playing video games, watching movies, or just hanging out.