Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

BrahmsAlto

53 Kew Gardens, NY Woman

Woman

I’m looking for

  • All who like bi women
  • Ages 35–60
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Jul 17
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Education
Dropped out of Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Catalan (Poorly), Latin (Okay), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Born in Brooklyn and and raised in Queens, I've lived in Manhattan, Northampton (MA), Los Angeles (CA), and Barcelona (Catalunya). I returned to NYC in 1996.

Close friends say I am warm, empathetic, sympathetic, generous,
funny, and all kinds of other positive adjectives. My cats say I
don't pay enough attention to them. My students say I am too hard & demanding (but some of them later tell me that they learned more failing my class than in classes where they got good
grades!).

What do I say? To quote Winnifred the Woebegone, "I'm SHY, just
incredibly SHY..." (If you get the reference, you understand.)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Teaching history (mostly Western Civ) at CUNY.

Singing major choral works with a large chorus -- email me if you want information about our Carnegie Hall performances -- and singing music of the 14th & 15th centuries with a small a cappella ensemble.

Trying to do the NY Times crossword puzzle and fending off my cat's "help" at the same time. And yes, I still use the "dead tree"
version of the Times.

Knitting and crocheting. Going on local hikes.

Planning adventures.

Spoiling my two cats.

Trying to figure out where to put things in my new apartment (and
realizing that I need more bookcases).
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Making my friends laugh. Bringing history to life for my students. Petting my cats.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Depends on the situation, I expect. I'd hope it was my vibrant personality, sense of humor, and/or rich alto voice. I suspect, this being a dating site, that it is my weight. I am not svelte.

A brand-new acquaintance said that the first thing she noticed was my "regal bearing." My mother would be so proud!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Favorite activity: going to performances of The Paul Taylor Dance Company.

(A) Authors: Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Sharyn McCrumb,Bernard Cornwell, Frank McCourt, Elizabeth George, Patrick O'Brian, and many more.

(B) Television/Movies: The Wire, Torchwood, Dr. Who, I, Claudius, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Burn Notice, White Collar, Lion in Winter(the ORIGINAL, not the remake!!!), La Reine Margot, Juana La Loca, Das Boot, The Sandbaggers, Stalingrad, and many more.

(C) Music, Genre & Composer: Renaissance & Medieval choral &/or instrumental, Brahms, Celtic (mostly traditional), Scandinavian fiddle, Astor Piazzola, JS Bach, Gershwin, Cole Porter, Josquin, Palestrina, Gesualdo & many, many more.

(C) Music, Performers: The Bobs, Karen Akers, Gerard Souzay, Johnny Cunningham, Phil Cunningham, Silly Wizard, the Tallis Scholars, the Buena Vista Social Club, Bare Necessities, Bonnie Raitt, Old Blind Dogs, & many, many more.

(D) Food: Thai, Sushi, French, really good bread (especially sourdough), imported dark chocolate, dry red wine (French, Chilean, Spanish, Californian), single malt scotch (not too smokey: Bunnahabhain, Glen Morangie), omelets, coffee, ice cream, coffee ice cream
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
library card(s)
cats
sleep
good dark chocolate
music
The Paul Taylor Dance Company
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Why students don't bother to read or follow the directions.
What Paul Taylor's dances mean.
Why the apartment doesn't clean itself.
Why Artemus, my 3 year old boy cat, finds it necessary to gallop around the apartment & bounce off the walls when I am trying to sleep.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Home watching TV &/or reading the discussions on Television Without Pity.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Not really private, just odd for a born-&-raised NYC girl: I like moving Big Rocks. Really Big Rocks. As in 300-pound (or larger) granite boulders. I discovered this odd predilection when I went on my first Volunteer Vacation sponsored by the American Hiking Society. In five years of vacations working on the Iron Goat Trail, I've helped build a puncheon bridge and a rock wall, learned to drive a toter, used macleods, pulaskis, and rock bars, dug ditches & post-holes, hacked away at old fallen trees while clearing brand new trail, and discovered the joy of pure physical labor. I've also worked on trails in Montana & West Virginia. One of these years, I'm going to work on a trail in Alaska.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You found anything in my profile which piqued your interest. You like Brahms. Or Bach. Or Josquin. Or the Paul Taylor Dance Company.

You should NOT email me if you use text-message spelling. Sorry, but if you are going to write, why not take the extra time to write whole words?