Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

BrainyGinger

31 F Houston, TX

My Details

Last Online
Today – 1:25am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Okay), French (Poorly), Italian (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Disclaimer: I'm moving to Houston this summer (sooner rather than later). I'm on here to start establishing friendships, etc. in a city I haven't really lived in in a decade.

I grew up in Houston and now I'm moving back. The last several years have been spent in graduate school and teaching in Massachusetts and North Carolina. However, I need to finish my dissertation, and a full time teaching job (in a place with no research-oriented libraries) is not allowing that to happen.

In terms of personality, I'm an odd mixture of quiet and loud: I like going out (especially to art openings, etc., but I greatly value my alone time. I can be dressed to the nines one day, and the next I won't even get out of my pajamas (unless I'm going out of my house of course!).
What I’m doing with my life
As I said, I'm currently working out when and how to move back to Houston. Like everyone else on the planet, I'm wearing a lot of hats. When I'm not running around like a chicken with my head cut off (an organized, dignified chicken, naturally), I try to enjoy life to the fullest. I enjoy trying new things, people watching from book stores, and traveling--though most travel currently is limited to the exotic cities I go to for conferences.
I’m really good at
I sound like an old lady, but crocheting. I do a lot of scarfs and blankets for charity in my spare time--my job doesn't involve producing anything tangible, so crocheting is my outlet for that.

Finding coffee. Cool story: I was on a trip with a friend we decided coffee was necessary in order to stop us from running off the road. Got off at a random exit, made two turns, and got us to a coffee shop. It's my super power.
The first things people usually notice about me
I think it's probably my hair--a giant, orange fuzz ball. After that, it's probably my laugh. Both make me easy to find in large crowds.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anything about music, short stories, some poetry by friends. Sherlock Holmes is a constant favorite, as is Agatha Christie. (I have the literary tastes of an 85-year-old British woman). I wish I had more time to read non-research-related things, but that's not my current reality.

Movies: Not really into them - though I'd like to start watching them more. Lately I've been getting into anything involving Quentin Tarantino and a lot of the older movies on Netflix.

Shows: most things British, Mythbusters, Top Gear, Nova Science Now, Into the Universe with Stephen Hawking, Arrested Development, and Phineas and Ferb (which is a children's cartoon, but it's brilliant)

Music: I have at least one artist I listen to in every genre, but I'm not the biggest fan of contemporary country or contemporary rap or hip-hop.

Food: I'll try just about anything once. I am very inclined towards Thai food, Sushi, and Scotch (though not at the same time).

Also, I love art--my aunt is an artist, I have tons of other friends who are visual artists, and my family owns an art gallery. I am the person that goes through every exhibit, from Pre-Columbian art up to the piece painted yesterday.
The six things I could never do without
Assuming water, food, shelter, and the like are somehow covered:

1) Books--preferably a library.
2) Paper--how else will I write down my thoughts about the books?
3) Humor
4) Communication in some form--I'll even go back to letters, but I have to be able to communicate with people somehow.
5) Animals--domesticated or wild, preferably both.
6) People--though I might be able to survive limited amounts of this with more of #5.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Music, music, the Universe and how it got here/where it's going, how the Ad algorithms on sites like Facebook work, what would I do if I had a Tardis, how big of a geek I come across as in a profile on a certain online dating website...
On a typical Friday night I am
There are at least fifteen different options for this. Does anyone have so regular a schedule that they can narrow it?! Ok, some options include: dinner/drinks with friends, art opening, at my house in pajamas, at my best friends house in yoga pants playing Cribbage, playing Cards Against Humanity
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I view large groups of women like a gazelle looks at the pride of lions on the hill.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 30–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
You want to know more about me, you find anything about me quirky, charming, attractive, or endearing (or synonyms thereof), you'd like to grab a beer/coffee/wine, you have evidence that The Doctor/bigfoot/Batman exists (better yet, you ARE the Doctor), or perhaps if you feel like it.