Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Bright_Thought

53 M Los Angeles, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 41–56
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 9:29pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Virgo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Dutch (Fluently), German (Okay), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Born in Amsterdam and contrarian by birth, I've been living in Los Angeles for half my life, and I still feel like I'm on vacation here no matter how hard I work. I'm a journalist with a PhD in ancient philosophy. People tend to think I'm bright, but I have my doubts - studying philosophy has taught me that for a blind horse it's better to be slow.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
An unsettling question to ask of someone who's filling out an online survey at 11:30 at night. But, in the spirit of cooperation, I work a lot and tend to enjoy that a lot. I travel not as much as I want but spend some time in Europe every year to reconnect with the people and places from the past. I read difficult books, try to appreciate difficult music, keep in touch with my friends and keep in shape.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Navigating underground-railway systems in foreign cities, ordering wine in restaurants, and befriending dogs.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm tall, I have an accent, I dress too well.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: recent favorites are The Gate by Francois Bizot and The Thousands Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell. Recently read Homer's Odyssey, which is much better now than when I read it in college. Perennial favorites are Faulkner and Proust (never got far beyond Swann's Way, but that one was so beautiful), and for mind expansion I like Foucault and Nietzsche.

Movies: I'm more into the slow and brooding foreign stuff, or the hip and snappy foreign stuff if it's around, than in the Hollywood product. Some (not so) recent favorites are A Prophet, Sexy Beast, In Bruges, Of Gods and Men, 24 Hour Party People.

Music: classical, 50s and 60s jazz, electronic, old school punk, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, some African, some Middle Eastern, flamenco, rebetiko, my two rap CDs, sappy 70s stuff, random bands I never found out who they were on KXLU.

Food: french fries with mayonnaise
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Salt, bread, olive oil, international airports, le plaisir du soleil.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Why we believe the things we believe.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Preferably home with a nice bottle of French white wine and a book, but I can be tempted to go out. In fact, I rather like that.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
There's a long list of inappropriate boyhood crushes I'm willing to admit to.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're smart, a bit educated, a bit worldly, stylish, self confident and relaxed. I'm beyond sturm und drang relationships and I'm interested in meeting people who are curious about life and the world and who want to continue growing.