Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

BrightonPhil

59 M Brighton, UK

My Details

Last Online
Aug 27
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Dropped out of university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English, French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
A few things.

It is better you hold an opinion I disagree with than no opinion at all, unless you repeat it endlessly and without reason because that would be just plain annoying.

I believe truth requires greater strength than deception, that integrity cannot be bought and that things rarely are as they first appear. The exception here would be lions, tigers and the like, they are pretty much how they first appear and are better avoided.

Style is good, good style is better; in things always, in people sometimes though not in me. I am more, shall we say, practical in what I wear and am not overly concerned about how others perceive me, those that get to know me well seem to like what they find.

I’m good at making things, fixing things that are broken and occasionally breaking things that are fixed.

A few more things.

I read current affairs from newspapers and the web and have a fascination for obituaries. Art galleries are a regular treat, particularly some of the smaller ones, and I have a passion for photography.

The recent spate of brooding Scandinavian crime dramas on TV had me hooked, though sometimes just watching Bruce Willis blow stuff up can be quite entertaining.

I like different genres of music though tend towards the blues. Dancing can be fun, but line-dancing makes me want to reach for a bowling ball.

Although I like live music, I don't do festivals: camping in the rain, queuing for toilets, the all-pervading smell of damp dog; I'd rather be in a coffee house, sipping my way through newspapers while watching the people go by.

By way of outdoor stuff, most Sunday mornings I'm racing a sail-boat off Brighton beach. Being on the water is relaxing and knocks the world into a more sensible perspective. When not sailing, I'm usually cycling around Brighton or trampling through woods and across fields looking for things to photograph. Failing that I'm in the garden doing my weeds v flowers thing.

What next.

My sense of humour is pretty good though not in a slapstick way, it's more an exploration of the surreal and the absurd. Some people don't get my jokes. Actually, that's probably most people.

Since my last relationship ended I've been in limbo; sea-sawing gently through ambivalence, cynicism and frustration. Being alone can be good, but I've done that and now want to meet someone to share stuff with, to hang out, to go to gigs, to go walking, to look at pictures, that sort of thing.

You will be on the slim side of average (it's just a thing I have) and you are definitely going to need a sense of humour. A grasp of irony and the absurd will come in handy too.

Oh, one final thing: if you do send a message please don't use those smiley things or write LOL or describe yourself as 'bubbly'. I will run a mile.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Trying to carefully join the end of one day with the beginning of the next so as not to leave event the tiniest of gaps.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Solving problems, making things, keeping secrets… doh!
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
By the time you find out, it's no longer the first thing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books. I like biographies, crime fiction, anything by Clive James and Sara Paretsky, books of photographs, technical how-things-work books, books about art, architecture and many of the classics, including pretty much anything written by Mark Twain.

Films. If I had to pick one, just one, it would be In the Heat of the Night. A work of genius.

Adding to that, I like the storytelling of Casablanca, The Maltese Falcon and Chinatown; the imagery of Apocalypse Now and 2001, the inventiveness of Blade Runner and The Life Aquatic; the spookiness of Peeping Tom and Manhunter; the weirdness of Fargo, Blue Velvet, Twin Peaks and Pulp Fiction. And then there's Drowning by Numbers, The Conversation, Tinker Tailor… and too many others to name.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Cameras, bicycle, boat, books, cookery stuff, computer.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Problem solving, imagining, pictures, people, landscape, sounds, movement, light.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
In a bar hanging out with friends and listening to music.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
There are parrots in my garden. Small, green parrots.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 40–58
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are standing on a cliff edge and about to jump.