Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Carlonius86

28 M Rockville, MD

My Details

Last Online
Today – 6:08pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Politics / Government
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I think this is where you're supposed to briskly and eloquently summarize your life story before gradually ladling in references to how literate and artistically-inclined you are, right? Okay, then.

I was born and raised in New York, finished out a graduate program at Syracuse University last year, and found work and a place to live in Montgomery County, which is where I've been for the last couple of years. I've been doing my best to stay busy since then - making new friends, exploring DC/MD/VA, and tentatively getting myself back afield.

I'm interested in meeting people who might share my interests - or at least, have some interesting stories to tell - and might be up for challenging them over a good cup of coffee, or whiskey, or ipa, or...well. Romance, friends, what have you - I've learned through this site that in-depth conversations online are only as important as what it means in person.

...okay, maybe it's a more popular opinion than I thought:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/02/12/opinion/sunday/online-dating-sites-dont-match-hype.html?_r=2&hpw
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working through the first few years of my first job in this huge, confusing, ambitious region - just trying to stay busy, meet interesting people, and have a reasonable amount of fun in the process. I've also been missing New York here and there...I love the challenges of a new environment, but not being a half-hour drive from my sisters anymore really sucks, especially now that I have two young nieces.
I’m really good at
● Deep diving into a new or interesting topic/issue and then deploying related minutiae when its warranted (and sometimes when it's not)
● Drawing/sketching, (though I haven't sat down to seriously do it in awhile)
● Guitar (thankfully much more often)
● Back rubs
● Navigating around fellow MoCo drivers, many of whom apparently haven't been introduced to the concept of turn signals (or proper lane change maneuvers)
● Hiking, biking, snowboarding, frisbee, soccer, and other outdoorsy things
The first things people usually notice about me
Either my height or my beard...the latter has provoked observations ranging from 'sexy' to 'distinguished' to 'ginger.' Still not sure what to make of that last one.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
● Michael Chabon, GRR Martin, Kurt Vonnegut
● Mad Men, Game of Thrones, Boardwalk Empire, Breaking Bad, Justified, and other high-ambition shows; Gangs of New York, In the Loop, Inside Man, the French Connection, Master and Commander, Fight Club, Annie Hall, the Big Lebowski, and other assorted dumb comedies and period piece dramas
● Modest Mouse, Built to Spill, Deerhunter, the Walkmen, the Mountain Goats, Feist, Fiona Apple, alternative rock, bluegrass, jazz, and a mess of other styles/genres. In general, I love going to see live music.
The six things I could never do without
● the handful of good friends I've made since moving here
● my family and two nieces (and nephew in 2-3 months)
● music of all varieties and genres
● a guitar of some sort
● high fantasy novels, contemporary nonfiction
● my snowboard (and mountains, of course)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Space, the universe, evolutionary biology, environmental policy, history, international politics, whether or not I left the stove on, etc.
On a typical Friday night I am
Down in Bethesda or (when the mood strikes) Dupont Circle or U Street for a few drinks. Less typically, hanging around Rockville with some combination of my four housemates. (Did I mention that I have four housemates?)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have excessively large feet and hands, and my arms are juuuust long enough that most long-sleeved shirts don't reach my wrists. I often roll them up for this reason.
I’m looking for
  • Straight girls only
  • Ages 25–30
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You have a goofy and slightly inappropriate sense of humor, or if you're wonkish, slightly nerdy, or a healthy combination thereof. Knowledge of good museums, pizza or wings to be had in downtown DC is a definite plus.