Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ChetNate

43 New York, NY Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 28–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 10:01pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Sagittarius, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English, French, German

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
My name is Nate, and the first thing I can share is that I am not as good looking as these photos unless I am feeling it, so please don't write if you're expecting a perfect package or something. I have more of a Paul Rudd, geeky side, and can be rather shy. But I'm a good-hearted guy with a good sense of humour and loyal to my friends. I'm very interested in film and music (especially classical and modern, I'm open-minded, like lots of kinds of music), and visual arts.

I worked at the United Nations for over 7 years in communications and outreach, including in the speechwriting office of the Secretary-General. I played a piano recital for the Secretary-General at his residence in 2009. In 2011, I travelled to Africa for the UN and began an international photo art project of bicycles that became my new job -- "Cycles". Check it out at natechet.com.

I love people who can share my sense of humour, who like funny movies or TV. I do like Woody Allen films.

Love to bicycle ride, stay in shape by working out at the gym or at home, like baseball, hiking.

I like to travel. Love being on the coast, whether Big Sur or Barcelona.

I'm originally from Toronto, Canada, and grew up there and in Southern California. I've lived in New York since late 2001.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
My ambition is to constantly challenge myself to grow as a person and artist. I am currently very involved in a photo art project and website for my photography and sell my art online and on weekends on Bleecker St in New York at the artisan market at Our Lady of Pompeii Church. The project is called "Cycles".

For work, I worked at the UN, in communications, publishing and outreach for the Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Before that I worked in speechwriting for the Secretary-General for three years. Since May 2014 I have worked solely on my photography business and as a freelance writer.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Communications work. Shooting video, photography. Associating music to video. Writing, acting. Piano...I like to perform, and perform piano sometimes locally. I majored in music composition and studied theater in New York. But I have found I am best at photography...but what I really want to do is direct! :)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My eyes. An actress friend once told me I am like a combination of Nick Nolte and Woody Allen, another said a mix of Hugh Grant and Morrissey when pensive. On strange occasions more than once I have been told while out Brad Pitt (?!), though I don't think so at all. I am a bit of a chameleon, and my best is when I am just being me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Raymond Carver stories, O Henry, Pushkin, Gogol, Einstein's Dreams, Letters to a Young Poet, Brothers Karamazov, Crime and Punishment, Catcher In The Rye, Franny and Zooey, Of Mice and Men, The Little Prince, The Stranger, The Hobbit, A Confederacy of Dunces, Deptford Trilogy, ...

Movies:
Boyhood, Sideways, Election, Of Mice and Men, Babe, Gaudi, Rivers and Tides, Manhattan, Midnight in Paris, Harold and Maude, Play It Again Sam, Swingers, Close Encounters, original Star Wars trilogy, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, Blade Runner, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, Four Weddings and a Funeral, Yesterday Today and Tomorrow, About a Boy, Regarding Henry, Working Girl, Revenge of the Nerds, Fletch, Risky Business, Chariots of Fire, Amadeus, The Apartment, Some Like It Hot, Arthur, Cinema Paradiso, The Mission, Ordinary People, Before Sunrise/Sunset (not midnight!), Fanfan la Tulipe, Casablanca, Groundhog Day, Topsy-Turvy, The Red Balloon/White Mane, Back to School, Rebel Without a Cause, Vertigo, North by Northwest, Rear Window, Sunday's Children, My Life as a Dog, Sweet Smell of Success, New York Stories, A Woman Is a Woman, Tootsie, A Man and a Woman, Metropolis, Superbad, Lars and the Real Girl, Hannah and Her Sisters, Husbands and Wives, Six Degrees of Separation, Dead Again, Paris je t'aime, La Vie en rose, Small Change, The 400 Blows, Shoot the Piano Player, Vicky Christina Barcelona, The Wild Child, The Sure Thing, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles, Cléo de 5 à 7, Parenthood, What's Eating Gilbert Grape, Celebrity, Adventureland, Animal House, Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Sex But Were Afraid to Ask, Running on Empty, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, Alice Neel, Kramer vs. Kramer, 2 Days in Paris, Up, Play Misty for Me, Shall We Kiss?, Tokyo Sonata

Music: Too many to list, I majored in music composition and live and breathe music. :) I'm open and love any "good" music, like to dance. Most often I listen to jazz, classical, experimental...but just as happy with folk, Brit alternative, rock, Philly soul, 80s pop, Nick Drake, Chet Baker, Leonard Cohen, Jeff Buckley, Belle & Sebastien and lots of others. Love dancing. Totally open with music, I guess I know what I like when i hear it. I totally love film music and opera, but more into Puccini than Verdi. I like psychological music and drama that is still entertaining and totally connected to the audience.

I was inspired to listen to music and become a musician by watching movies as a child...so music seemed abstract and psychological at first! :)

Food: I like all kinds of cuisine, especially French, Ethiopian and Indian.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1) Good friends
2) My apartment, which I've nicknamed "the boat"
3) The water, i.e. biking along the Hudson River, the ocean, waterfalls, you name it.
4) Film
5) Music
5) Really good beer -- have you checked out burp castle?!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Where to travel next and my next project.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Relaxing from end of work week watching a film, cooking dinner and reading, or going out with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I once painted myself green (around age 4) and told my sister I was Kermit the Frog.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are a substantive person looking for a mate -- friendship is foundation of anything good between people. You're mature, a good-hearted person and have a good sense of humor, perspective. Great conversation is a plus! And if we click, then that's awesome.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!