Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


48 East Orange, NJ Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 36-50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Nov 22
5' 8" (1.73m)
Body Type
A little extra
Dropped out of University
Has cats
English (Fluently)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a swell guy, dogs and cats like me right away
but my favorite animal is the octopus. I live near the city in NJ and have basically for my whole life. I make no claim to being a native New Yorker, a New Yorker at heart etc. People I know from other parts of the country have introduced me as "being from New York," when I've visited. I guess this is because to someone from rural PA or the Northwest I seem more like a New Yorker than anything else.

Political activism is an important part of my life. Although just now I am minimally involved as I adjust to my new job. I won't try and recruit you to it but you should at least respect it in principle

I am honest, intelligent, and learning
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Recently I read Hegel's Science of Logic, the year before that
The Phenomenology of Spirit by G.W.F. Hegel. These were books I promised myself I would read before I die and I thought it was time. This is to say; not for school, at lunch, on the bus/train on the sofa, etc. Just now I am reading Foucault's A History of Madness. Reading kind of keeps me grounded. A person can never have too much knowledge.

I work at a law firm in midtown. It is a little bit of an unstable place but I am trying to imbue it with stability at least for the time being.
For the last month or so they have had me working from home, which took a bit of getting used to. My cat is filling in as my annoying distracting co-worker but I am semi culpable for indulging his silliness.

For the last few years I've been repairing and selling (mostly selling) books on the internet. I am getting progressively better at doing so. My salary is kind of substellar so anything to cover my lunch expenses that does not involve a chemistry set and an RV is all to the good. Also I think encountering an unfiltered flow of used books is beneficial in ways that many people have denied to them.

I don't drink much and I never smoke or use drugs.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I learned to read very early, long before yuppie parenting, simply from having my mom read to me.

Scrabble is something I enjoy playing quite a bit. Sometimes I even win. I've tried out chess and go and found I am only good at teaching someone how to play and then losing to them.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I don't know, I guess my eyes. Like anyone else.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I like unconventional music like: Sun Ra, Iannis Xenakis, late John Coltrane, Harry Partch, Alfred Schnittke, Magma, etc. But I won't subject you to it just to be a pain in the ass.

Some of my favorite movies are My Favorite Year, Pi, Treasure of Sierra Madre, The Battle of Algiers. I just finished watching Battlestar Galactica on Netflix, I don't know how anyone is supposed to watch Star Trek again after that.

3 movies I walked out of: The Phantom Menace, Wild at Heart, (the Matthew Broderick) Godzilla.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Books, Computer, My Cat, Music, Political Activism, People
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Social revolution, things I'd like to write, abstractions, work.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Mostly at home. I am not much of a party animal. if I do go out on weekends it's often on Saturday night after I am unwound or daytime outings Saturday or Sunday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I was diagnosed with a mental illness in 1992 and since then it's been kept under control with pharmaceuticals. It's the kind of thing you wouldn't know if I did not tell you, so I am telling you.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
1) You enjoy any of the activities I do

2) You are not too young for me

3) You're a little odd and not in the trendy sort of way; more in the "sometimes it can be troublesome not fitting in" way