Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

DBAChris

39 M Plano, TX

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 29–41
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 7:38am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Pisces, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly), C++ (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
(subject to constant re-write)

So when I get on a role, I probably write too much, so here's the short version... I'm a playful, optimistic geek who's looking for a woman to explore the world with. I love live music, trying great food and learning new things. I hope to find somebody who's equally curious, kind and adventurous to share the journey with.

A little more detail...

I'm from a relatively small family. I was taught to work hard for what I wanted in life, but I also figured out that you've gotta take time out to smell the roses otherwise that "life" just kinda passes you by.

I love building things & solving problems. From welding, plumbing, woodworking & electrical stuff to assembling computers, writing software and soldering circuits together, I'm a bit of a gearhead. I love photography and it's one of the reasons I love to travel & want to visit more places. I'm a romantic at heart and while my kind of woman is probably going to be very independent/progressive, I hope that she'll appreciate the acts of chivalry that are ingrained in who I am. If we meet & there's chemistry there, expect to be courted... and you should expect flowers and other random acts of kindness because IMO, that's what a real man should do. I'm not looking for a fling, booty-call or FWB.

I have a great career that's really just the backbone to my hobbies and passions. I love cars... I have a small/fast one that's always a work-in-progress & subject to some kind of overhaul/upgrade, then a practical SUV for hauling around friends, co-workers and random things from Home Depot.

I love lots of the usual geek stuff... scifi, anything by Joss Whedon. Lots of different kinds of music, although I lean toward electronic stuff. Love Beck, NIN, deadmau5. I love to cook and can make some mean BBQ. I'm in the process of building a smoker out of raw sheetmetal. I love great food and we're lucky to be this city with so much of it. (thai, pho, sushi or just a great steak!). I love a few shows, mostly HBO stuff... I'm controlling my GoT withdrawals with The Wire now... both great shows.

What I am looking for is somebody open minded (read: less religious, pro-LGBT & equal marriage), smart, kind & funny. You've gotta be curious about the world, passionate about some hobbies or things outside of work. And you must believe that not only is the "happily ever after" fairy tale possible, but that it's something you both deserve and want to help create for the right person.

Oh, and you should probably like Dr. Pepper and think Mike Rowe is awesome. If you're still a bit of a kid at heart, bonus.

Also, if you think this is awesome AND makes you giggle, we have the same sense of humor and you should contact me immediately:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kq-VNCGBDRU

(representing a few more of my fav things)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Expanding it...

Geek stuff... video games, taking things apart. Lifehacking, aka: spending hours trying to find a clever way to save a few minutes.

Dusting off some hobbies & interests that I had before & seeking out new ones. Traveling more, meeting new people, trying new foods. Questioning my own beliefs... sometimes I feel like I'm morphing from a conservative republican into a hippie & back again. About 4 years ago, I lost my father and broke off an engagement. These events made me pause and ask myself "where am I going?" and "am I really happy?". So far, my answers are "forward" and "most of the time"...

I've done a bit more traveling recently (Hawaii, skiing @ Jackson Hole, running around France & Italy), but I need to start planning my next trip. Japan? Scotland? not sure yet...

Photography. Still tons to learn, but it's fun. I occasionally get lucky w/ my Nikon!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
fixing things.

rationalizing.

smoking meats.

writing SQL.

starting projects.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
hazel eyes maybe? when my hair gets a bit shaggier, I've been told I look like Sam Merlot. *shrug*
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books - (recent/current stuff) A Song of Ice & Fire, Blink,
Letters to a Young Contrarian, Surely You're Joking Mr. Feynman!.

TV - Big Bang Theory, HIMYM, Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, Breaking Bad, Venture Brothers. Random stuff on FoodTV & HGTV. Top Gear!

Movies - Anything by Joss Whedon, David Fincher, Guy Ritchie, Hayao Miyazaki, Tim Burton. Focus Features... most of the Marvel stuff. Anything by Pixar. Lots of 80's stuff.. All-time fav's include Aliens, Princess Bride, Scott Pilgrim, Snatch, The Usual Suspects, Beetlejuice. Modern stuff that has a classic feel, like Super 8, Easy A.

Music - again, sorta stuck in an 80's/90's rut. Everything from Rob Zombie to Enya. Lots of electronic stuff. NIN, Beck & Depeche Mode are my foundation. Shows I've seen in the past ~year include: Radiohead, BT, Muse, Bon Jovi, Chris Isaak, Hall & Oates, Bon Iver, Journey & Sarah McLachlan. My car's radio has just 3 presets: NPR, JackFM & KDGE.

Food - Not sure if I qualify as a foodie or not, but I love good food. Thai (esp. green curry) ,Indian, Pho, tex-mex, sushi. A great medium-rare filet at home or somewhere like III Forks, Nick & Sams or Al Biernats.... nom!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
(aside from the usual friends/family/air/water)
Cajun seasoning
Dr. pepper
Google maps
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
I have ADD, so probably something shiny that caught my attention.

whatever NPR puts into my head in the morning...
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
happy hour... although probably chilling @ home, recovering from a busy week. Dinner w/ family or friends... or a date!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Once you get to know me, I don't have any big secrets. Flip through my questions and you'll find the little things I'm willing to share...
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you know what you want, or more importantly, know who you are. I love common ground, but I'd rather be with somebody who has real opinions and won't hesitate to voice them!