Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


47 Washington, DC Man


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 28–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 12:55am
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body type
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from masters program
Science / Engineering
Doesn’t have kids
Likes dogs
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), German (Fluently), Portuguese (Fluently), Italian (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm not very easy to summarize, and if you don't think you are either then we might be a good match. I've spent as much of my adult life living outside the US as living in it, and while I'm not living in DC for any of the usual professional reasons, I have no plans to leave either. Despite my rather extensive experience abroad, I've spent most of my career working for myself. If that intrigues you, maybe we should talk.

I love to cook, especially Spanish and Italian, have a huge interest in art history, and as long as the weather is cooperating I'd rather spend a day cycling than doing just about anything else.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
You mean since I got out of prison?
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Languages - I'm fluent in four and can get by in a few more. Among other things I translate professionally. I have excellent grammar, which is apparently rare from the complaints I've been reading (second in frequency only to shirtless selfies), but rarer still I don't have a 'tude about it. I'll see your Oxford comma and raise you a New Yorker diaeresis.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I bear a strong resemblance in person to the pictures I've posted here. You should too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Tulipomania - a history of the 17th Century tulip craze in Holland. You'll never look at a tulip the same way again.

Antifragile, the sequel to The Black Swan (not the psycholesbian ballet drama – the book that predicted the financial crisis a few years ago). Life-changing, if unrelentingly erudite, stuff.

And I can't leave out La Mimica Degli Antichi Investigata Nel Gestire Napoletano (Andrea de Jorio, 1832) You know how Italians tend to talk with their hands? Ever wish someone wrote a dictionary for it? Well someone did, and this is it. Every Italian I've shown it to reacts the same way: "Where did you get this book??"

Music: I especially like anything Brazilian, but will listen to just about anything once, especially live. Last concert I traveled for was King Crimson in New York this September - given their audience demographic you've most likely either 1) never heard of them or 2) don't like them. Oh well. Saw Nando Reis and Caetano Veloso on two recent visits to Brazil in December '12 and June '13, and hoping to plan my next trip around Hermeto Pascoal's concert schedule in São Paulo. Thievery Corporation is always welcome for any occasion, and they make me happy I live in DC every time I hear them. If you know who Steven Wilson is and we make it past a first date, you've won a ticket to see him at the 930 Club soon for our second.

Food: I'll go out for (or preferably cook) just about anything, but am especially fond of Italian and Spanish - mostly cooking Italian at the moment, but planning a major Spanish cookout for my birthday this year.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
- My friends near and far
- Mountain bike
- Passport
- Telescope
- Properly made espresso (almost impossible to get in DC)
- Art
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Art, cooking, and my next trip to Brazil. I travel there several times a year for work, and also have a three-year-old godson who lives near São Paulo.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Having a drink or a meal somewhere in town, if at all possible outside.

Or coaxing the latest advance in German technology into English for a US patent application if I'm on a deadline. Which doesn't mean I won't be having a drink too.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I bear an uncanny resemblance to Emilio Azcárraga Jean, the CEO of Televisa in Mexico and one of the richest men in Latin America. All the more ironic because you could probably go back to the last ice age and not find a single drop of Latin blood in my family tree. Don't believe me? Google him. Mexicans have stopped me on the street over this.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.'d like to actually meet, and very soon after mutually getting in contact.'re American and you've spent at least two years abroad - bonus points if you took the time to learn the language wherever you were.'re Brazilian, have a connection to Brazil, or at least have an interest. Between my godson and my consulting business I spend a couple of months a year there, and it would be great if you have a reason or desire to spend some time there too.'re from anywhere else in the world, and want to meet an American guy who has as much or more experience living abroad as you do (trust me). don't have a picture of yourself tandem skydiving into Machu Picchu and landing in a yoga pose. Shirtless selfies aren't the only annoying photo subject on OKCupid :-) While were at it, when did giant outdoor Jenga become a thing? didn't lie about anything in your profile. Sorry in advance that I even need to say this...

...e se você fala portugues, o você é brasileira e mora aqui em DC o perto de São Paulo, por favor escreve! Várias vezes por ano eu visito o meu afilhado em Vinhedo, e gostaria muito te conhecer na minha próxima visita ao Brasil.