DNAlien_rm
32 Seattle, WA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
DNAlien_rm
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Originally from Florida, I've lived in Seattle since 2009. I have (most of) a degree in Anthropology, with a focus on archaeology, but I don't work in that field and it doesn't seem to come up much in everyday situations, oddly enough. I have a ton of dorky hobbies, from cosplaying to beading. I like things that are vaguely crafty with a low skill threshold. I love to read, and love talking about whatever I'm reading at the time, if I can find anyone who seems like I won't completely bore them to death with it.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm an assistant manager at a retail location in the Capitol Hill area. At some point I intend to transition into a job I feel a little more attached to, and stimulated by, but for now I'm just paying bills and gaining "work experience".

I love computer games, card games, board games, all the games. I recently finished reading A Song of Ice and Fire series. I'm a big anime fan and I regularly attend Sakuracon. I got a state park pass when I updated my tags for my car so I mean to take advantage of that whenever opportunity presents itself.

I LOVE trivia games, in particular I love going to bars for team trivia type of events, and simultaneously showing off and killing off my brain (with beers). I had a dedicated group of friends I used to do this with in Jacksonville, but I don't know anyone in Seattle that likes it enough to make it a regular thing. If you do this regularly, and have room for one more then you should definitely message me!

In 2015 I made my most successful weight loss effort ever. I lost about 50lbs, and I plan to lose another 30 to 40lbs, roughly. I have a simple exercise and diet plan, and I'm by no means a health nut. That said, sporting type of activities (hikes, outdoor games like frisbee or tennis) would be cool by me, although I don't currently pursue any of those things in my life.
I’m really good at
Finding new places to eat in Seattle... they are endless. I'm good at going with the flow... I'm up for going out or staying in, although I do have a tendency towards relaxing at home. I'm good at general knowledge trivia, word puzzles, and I think I'm an excellent gift giver. I'm bad at naming that tune, and fashion probably.
The first things people usually notice about me
My laugh, maybe my eyes. Maybe my earrings if I have big crazy ones in at the time. The way I talk with my hands.

Sometimes they notice that my hair is growing thin, or
My morning coat, my collar mounting firmly to the chin,
My necktie rich and modest, but asserted by a simple pin- or
That my arms and legs are thin.

(This is not, in fact, a literal physical description of myself. The fact that I have photos to look at may have helped clue you in to this)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
OK... Lists.

Books-Wheel of Time series, anything by Tolkien, the Alchemist, the Little Prince, Steppenwolf, Siddhartha, Magister Ludi or the Glass Bead Game, Good Omens, Ender's Game, Everything is Illuminated, A Song of Ice and Fire.

Movies-Pan's Labyrinth, O Brother Where Art Thou, Super Troopers, Snatch, Mad Max: Fury Road, ... movies I could rewatch no matter how many times I've seen them. The original Lord of the Rings trilogy. I love the movie Everything is Illuminated, but only about half as much as the book (as previously mentioned).

Music- There are 4 bands/musicians on my iPod that share a few common threads: I have their full discographies, they have put out 3 or more albums and I like all of the albums well enough to play them back to back. In no particular order, they are Tool, the Black Keys, Mirah, and the White Stripes.

Some new music I've recently become interested in (an area with a revolving door, that I will try to update from time to time): vocal dubstep, Seven Lions, Krewella, Imagine Dragons.

Foods- Indian, Thai, and Japanese are always good. I LOVE Thai curry, or any curry for that matter. In the Bowl and Anna Purna are probably my favorite places to eat on the Hill. Katsu Burger in the SoDo area is a little known treasure, and The Cutting Board a total unknown... but it has the best Japanese curry ever! I prefer Old School Custard to Molly Moon's. I love pretty much anything with peanut butter in it, and I would laid down my life for Reese's.
The six things I could never do without
books, a cell phone, good company, things that surprise me, rainy days, sunny days, and music.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The nature of consciousness and the possibility that free will is an illusion. What I want my life to be, and at what point I'm supposed to go from "getting there" to "there".
On a typical Friday night I am
Working, maybe out with friends. Maybe playing video games, reading, or watching TV if I'm feeling lazy and/or anti-social.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a ghost. Don't tell anyone else, it'll ruin the ending.
You should message me if
The real truth here? If you want to go see a movie with me. I love going to the movies, I go by myself plenty, I'd be happy to meet someone new and see a movie at the same time. I'm also perfectly happy continuing to go alone, but if you're into it, then I'm down probably.

You've ever heard of a game called Set.
You live in Seattle and want to go to the symphony/opera/theater/book stores/local concerts/sporting events/coffee houses/cool restaurants with me.
You can get into intense arguments and get over them in about 5 minutes and seriously not hold a grudge over it.
You like to talk about movies, philosophy, or the philosophy of movies. Or movies about philosophy.
You like to play tennis or ultimate frisbee, and won't mind me being less than stellar at either.
More