D_McIntire
28 Ann Arbor, MI
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
D_McIntire
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a near lifelong resident of the Ann Arbor area. As an undergraduate, I studied international relations, and in graduate school, economics.

One of my favorite activities is simply going for a long walk - I once walked from downtown Ann Arbor to Ypsi and back, just for the hell of it. Craft projects are common, too, ranging from jewelry pieces to a maille hauberk. Lately, I've been working on a custom Settlers of Catan board for a friend.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as an analyst for a non-profit business research group. Sometimes that entails dicing up corporate financial reports, sometimes it's writing a white paper on the impact of a law or regulation. Mostly, the day to day is spent providing data support for company research projects.

I also often provide data to politicians and the media - and become incredibly annoyed with both, for knowingly misconstruing or ignoring that data when it does not suit their ideological narrative or agenda.

I traveled extensively when younger and no longer find myself enthralled with it. I've been to every continental state, several multiple times; most of the Canadian provinces; and various European countries; and a few other destinations.

I do have a running list of countries and cities I'd like to visit or return to, but I'm in no rush: Ireland; the UK; return trips to Montreal, Canmore, several national parks...

A knee injury some time ago necessitated that I stop weightlifting for several months. Re-establishing the habit now.
I’m really good at
- Guiltlessly, brutally mutilating beloved songs in karaoke.
- Talking for hours on end, usually about economic or social policy.
- To quote a coworker: "This is a really selfish request, but please never leave. We cannot replace you. No one else can do what you do."
The first things people usually notice about me
"Where are you from? What accent is that?"

I've also walked in on a conversation where a group of my coworkers were talking behind my back - about how well dressed I am.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
Dracula. Guns, Germs and Steel. Banker to the Poor. Notes from Underground.

Daily reading:
The Wall Street Journal, The Economist, Reuters, and Bloomberg.

Music:
Second Person. Third Eye Blind. Clare Burson. Flogging Molly. Dandy Warhols. Jenny Lewis.

Movies & TV:
Alien. South Park. Firefly. Serenity. Star Trek: TOS. Twin Peaks. X-Files
The six things I could never do without
Coffee is mandatory. Good microbrew is optional, but greatly appreciated.

Intelligent discourse is prerequisite to my happiness.

Else, I need something to do. I rather go stir crazy if idle too long / if whatever I'm doing doesn't require active attention or engagement.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Persistent issues in society.
The arenas of public and economic policy.
Social messages and cultural norms.

I've just moved into an apartment near downtown, so most of my attention is on deciding how to arrange the furniture, and sprucing the place up.
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately, Fridays have been spent at home. Wednesdays, Thursdays and usually Sundays, I'm out - spending time with my sister, board game nights with friends, etc...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I had the same cat from the time I was 3, almost through to my 24th birthday. I spent more time with that cat, than with people.
You should message me if
Do you enjoy beer or booze and banter? Followed by aimlessly wandering town for hours on end?
More