Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

DadOf4

54 M Roswell, GA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 23, 2007
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Gemini, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
*** UPDATE -- I got engaged on New Years Eve *** ...My profile will stay for a little bit, but I'm off the market. ;-)

* I am a divorced father of four great kids. I'm the custodial parent - so little time to go out IRL. There...the hard stuff is out of the way... *

I do a lot of things - I enjoy being busy. In addition to being the taxi service for four children with wildly varying schedules, I also attend a writing critique group and a Disciple class.

I write -- I have a complete Young Adult Fantasy novel that I am trying to sell and two others in the works.

I am a computer consultant and website designer, I have a home office and several paying clients.

I am a substitute teacher -- I teach pre-K through 12th grade, all subjects, and I particularly enjoy resource teaching (English for Speakers of Other Languages, Early Intervention, IRR - what used to be called special ed), and TAG(Talented And Gifted program).

I enjoy camping, hiking, boating (Kayak, Canoe, Raft, Sail, Motor...), rock climbing, spelunking. I also enjoy sitting on a mountain cabin porch watching the sun set, walking along a beach watching the sun rise, and lying on a clifftop watching the stars wheel overhead.

I love my computer games (MMORPG, FPS and solo RPG), lots of books and lots of movies.

I am inquisitive, spiritual, and generous
What I’m doing with my life
Primarily, I'm a dad. That takes up more of my life than any other single thing. I am also a writer - I have completed a Young Adult novel (fantasy) and have another in the works. * For income I am a substitute teacher (k-12) and a computer consultant - I work from a home office with rare light travel to teach clients about software. I write HTML like English and I know a little bit of ASP, SQL, VB6 (No .NET, mores the pity). I learned in the stone age when you had to chip your own computer out of quartz - so I started with BASIC and FORTRAN, COBOL and PASCAL...I have since forgotten most of that since there is no place to use it now. * I am an artist and love to draw in black ink. * I am also a seeker when it comes to spiritual issues.
I’m really good at
...telling stories and making up tall tales. I'm a decent dad. Kayaking, canoeing and rafting (I was a raft guide for many years). I build a fire right up there with the best of them - I've often built fires in the rain with found wood.
The first things people usually notice about me
I guess you'd have to ask THEM - I have no idea.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A) Snow Crash - Neal Stephenson(I just read it for the fourth time); Cryptonomicon(Read it three times) - same; Ringworld - Larry Niven; Mote in God's Eye - Niven, Basically anything by Niven, Pournelle, Stephenson, Heinlein, Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Clifford Simak or Madeleine L'Engle... ...too many more to elucidate.

B) Casablanca - ok sappy perhaps, but one of the greatest films of all time; Fallen - Coolest demon ever; Trading Places; The Search for the Holy Grail; Anything with Indiana Jones or Harry Potter in it; All of the 'Back to the Future' series; LOTR of course, although I have trouble staying awake through the extended version DVDs; Nightmare Before Christmas and Corpse Bride are right up there too. I love the Grimm Brothers movie, even though it scared one of my kids terribly. (Yeah, I probably shouldn't have taken him... Everyone makes a mistake now and then.)

C) ANY music. I love gregorian chants to pop, top 40. Steel drums and Big Band and Garage Punk; Beatles, Stones and B-52s; Verve Pipe, The Band and They Might be Giants; ELO, Alanis Morrisette and Eagles; Pink Floyd, Kansas and Shakespear's Sister; Weird Al, The Cars and Michael Jackson... I mean everything!

D) Thai, Indian, Varsity chili dogs - just about anything that isn't currently kicking or wasn't once somebody's pet.
The six things I could never do without
1) Air 2) Water 3) Food 4) My kids After that the list gets hazy. I'm pretty open to anything. I do love having access to a computer and the internet, but even that I could give up if the situation required it.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where the heck are we going as a species? ...it looks like we are trying really hard to destroy ourselves and take as many other creatures along with us as we can. I sure hope that isn't so, because there are many members of our species who are awfully fun to be around and/or really cute to look at in person or on the screen. I also think alot about Nanotechnology and other advanced scientific ideas (like Stephen Hawkings' Big Crunch-Big Bang Universe)...just because they are very cool.
On a typical Friday night I am
Helping out with homework or driving up to the mountains. (Okay - most Fridays I am in Tirisfal Glades or Winterspring, but that's only virtual.) (UPDATE) - Fewer of my Fridays are spent online as we approach summer. Now I am trying to get out and have cook-outs and movie nights with the kids.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 34–94
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
...you are interested in someone to chat with about any of the interests I've mentioned. If you don't have to be at a sporting event every Saturday or Sunday afternoon and instead prefer walking through the woods or along a riverbank. If you love kids as much as I do. (...and no I don't mean in any sort of creepy way, yuck! I'm a dad.) If you have enough of a sense of humor to laugh at yourself (...as I do) ;-)