DanFlanPDX
38 Portland, OR
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
DanFlanPDX
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a native Oregonian, though I've also spent a few years overseas (mostly in Sicily) and traveled quite a bit before coming back. Portland is awesome!

Professionally, the short answer is that I work as a political consultant (for a Democratic firm). The longer answer is that I'm an opposition researcher (which may be easier to explain via google search).

Often hanging out at my house in the Foster Powell neighborhood and engaging in epic battles with my jungle/yard (it won't prevail... forever).

For fun, I hang out with my family and friends... hiking, rafting, traveling, camping. Love to check out new restaurants and dive bars. I also like to cook and love to get outside. I enjoy live music (started out as a music major in school back in the day), walking my dog (or my roommate's dog), going to Blazers and Ducks games, and of course, discussing the issues of the day - I'm a bit of a news/information junkie (though I loathe our media). I also watch too much HBO.

I'm an open and honest person and appreciate it when people treat me the same way. I know what I want in a partner, but I'm also aware that the best laid plans can go to waste and some of the best things in life come in unexpected ways. Looking for someone that I can have fun with, and grow with. Someone who is intelligent, funny and down with a variety of random activities. Must love dogs and travel adventures.
What I’m doing with my life
Early on I really didn't know what I wanted to do with my life and prioritized experience over career (My career path went something like: Wildlands Firefighting - Lift Operator at Ski Resorts, Travel, Navy, School, Politics). In the end, it paid off. I feel like a pretty well-rounded person and at a great point in my career, but I'm still missing that special someone.
I’m really good at
Fun, adventure, making friends, hanging with dogs, and... political analysis. I'm also a pretty good cook, I think.
The first things people usually notice about me
Red hair, and lately, beard. People also usually notice my sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read and write a lot for work, so my pleasure reading is more streaky... Lately, for fun, I've read the Game of Thrones books and some other favorite authors include Tom Robbins, Hunter S. Thompson, Tolkien, Orwell, Paulo Coelho, and the list goes on and on. TV shows: GoT, Walking Dead, True Detective, Veep, Blazers & Ducks games, etc. Food is mostly anything but mushrooms.
The six things I could never do without
Family, friends, dogs, food, shelter, water? Maybe I'm supposed to be more creative with this.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future, the follies of self-gratifying bloviation on social media, circumnavigating the globe on a sailboat, what am I doing this weekend, what's for dinner, etc...
On a typical Friday night I am
Variety is the spice of life - I could be enjoying delicious food/drinks at a Portland establishment, camping, traveling, hanging out with friends, or trying something completely different. It all depends what strikes me as worthwhile that night.
You should message me if
Message me if you're interested!
More