Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

DancingPorpoise

37 M Waterloo, Ontario, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 27–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 2:24am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Overweight
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay), German (Poorly), Thai (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
A geeky brain and an artsy heart...

I can't remember the last time I wasn't actively volunteering somewhere and I don't think I'm capable of going more than 3 months without joining a choir or theatre production. I've been a swing dance instructor, my house is decorated with my own paintings, and I consider cooking to be one of the most tangible forms of creative expression.

I'm a software developer; they pay me to make advanced mathematics software easier to use. I'm also love playing board games (and role-playing games) and I have a number of computer and electronics projects waiting in the wings. I'm proud of my home theatre system, but mostly because of how much I learned cobbling it together from a hodge-podge of parts.

I love learning new things and I'm open to new experiences: the quirkier and more unusual, the better. I consider buffets a chance to try all sorts of things I've never tasted before, and all of life looks like a buffet to me (hmmm.... that might explain my rotund figure...) I try not to take myself too seriously and I'm always ready to ham it up, like a few years ago, when I spent the month dressing in drag for the children ;-)

Speaking of dressing up for children, I got myself a Santa suit so that I make some positive use of my figure... Shortly after Valentine's day, a touring Chilean Jazz band was asked by the kids back home if they'd run into Santa while up in Canada. The next morning I got an email from one of the organizers asking me to show up to the concert that evening in costume! The band had a blast taking pictures on Santa's lap and I loved the chance to make them happy, catch some great music, and make everyone's February just a little more surreal ;-)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
After a decade of providing technical support to non-profits, I've started moving my career forward with more education and a new company. I still believe in the product I'm helping to make, but there are ways to contribute to society that will also better compensate me with respect to tangible benefits, allowing me pay off my debts and save for a house/family.

And I'm doing something that I am passionate about! I identified which parts of my job I loved and went back to school for a few courses to improve my expertise; that went so well that now I'm planning to return to do a part-time Master's degree.

I still plan to volunteer with the non-profits, though these days it is more by sitting on boards and running committees than the hands-on stuff. For the next few years I'm happy to continue living in the intentional community of my housing co-op

I don't think I'll ever stop being involved in the arts; the current plan is to get back into singing with a choir/chorus or two and voice lessons (developing my countertenor range after years of being the low bass). It's been too long since I last painted and I may want to pick that up, though I need to remember not to overfill my schedule. Particularly since I'm not completely done with swing dancing or amateur theatre...

It is worth noting that after getting my financial house back in order and doing my MMath, the plan is to move up to Ottawa to settle. I really love my community of friends here in KW, but I also miss the Canadian shield and real winters with a cross-country skiing season that spans not just hours or sporadic days, but weeks... or even months! Ottawa just seems the perfect compromise between the rugged geography of the north and the urban culture of the "south" (while still having a meaningful tech job market so that I can continue to be gainfully employed).

That said, I loving travelling and exploring new cultures (I've lived on three different continents and visited at least 18 countries), so work exchanges and long vacations are probably still in my future.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Singing and dancing and hamming it up. I get asked to lead vocal warm-ups (often at the drop of a hat), create choreography (I generally get at least some warning for that) and join choirs/choruses (my technical ability still needs some refinement but that can be trained, unlike big lungs and a 3.5 octave vocal range).

I'm a good story teller and conversationalist, though be wary of my sense of humour; it tends towards either the ironic or puns. I'm very "good" at puns... if such an ability can ever be called "good".

I am also very stable and comforting; friends come to me to talk things through when they need grounding and support. My guest room frequently houses friends in between jobs or relationships.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
The puns! Oh dear God, the PUNS!!!

And the hats; I love wearing interesting hats.

And maybe the homemade jerky and dried apple slices. Or pretty much any of the food I bring with me (did I mention I love cooking?)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Lots of sci-fi and fantasy. I'm particularly fond of William Horwood, whom most people seem not to have heard of, but also more popular authors like Guy Gavriel Kay or Terry Pratchett. I'll tackle a classic book by Dostoevsky occasionally, some historical fiction such as Michener, or non-fiction selections like Last Chance to See (Douglas Adams), or work related textbooks about Human-Computer Interactions and cog sci.

Movies: funny, dark, and quirky films that make you think a little. My rom-coms are Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Tao of Steve. You'll also find arthouse films on my shelf, contrasted with really campy so-bad-their-good movies like Lair of the White Worm (Hugh Grant before he made it big, wielding a two handed sword slicing in half a vampire-snake-zombie), Barbarella, or Jesus Christ Vampire Hunter. And there's a fair bit of sci-fi and Monty Python.

TV: I don't actually have cable, though I do have ambitions of building an antennae to see what I can pick up over the air. I buy seasons of shows: Dr Who, Battlestar Galactica, West Wing, Dollhouse, Firefly, Buffy, Heroes, Red Green... apparently I watch sci-fi and comedy. I guess I've got Jazz, Cosmos, and a few other documentary series too.

Music: You know you've got really eclectic tastes when the clerk at a second hand music store feels the need to comment on the range of what he's ringing up for you... Lots of jazz and classic rock, but there's also plenty of folk, classical, acapella, and heavy metal. There's some pop, techno, and even a little country. Not much rap or hip hop though, at least not from a vintage after the mid-90s... Got something not on my list? Introduce me to some of the genre's best and teach me to appreciate it if it's an acquired taste.

Food: I love to cook fancy meals from fresh ingredients (often starting at the farmer's market and/or an Asian grocer), surprisingly creative meals from whatever is currently in the fridge, and spicy dishes from around the world (spicy is optional, but I ate street food when I lived in Bangkok and may have my picture on the wall for finishing a "top of the line" spiced dish at a local restaurant).

Fancy dining before going somewhere nice is fun (both for the tasty food and just to dress up), but I'm rather partial to hole-in-the-wall ethnic places that leave me feeling in the minority.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
A computer with an internet connection
An outlet for artistic expression
A group to play games with
Beautiful art
Tasty foods
Friends and family
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How people work. How technology works. Looking for beauty in things created and things observed and the wonderfully perverse ways that life surprises us.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
at a theatre, on a dance floor, or at a friends house for games/socializing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My first solid food was moose meat?

My dimple is actually the result of a warning nip from our family dog (who even we couldn't tell apart from a black bear at 200 yards...) when I hit him rather inappropriately as a child.

I have the dubious distinction of being the only swing dancer in KW to have accidentally thrown his partner into Silver Lake (ewww!) while dancing on the Waterloo Park boardwalk.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are looking for a relatively serious relationship, consider buffets an opportunity to try all the unfamiliar things, and self-identify (a least a little bit) as a science/math/tech geek who has no trouble listing your favourite outlet(s) for artistic expression.