Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Darkrose1

52 F Ferndale, MI

My Details

Last Online
Apr 17
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 2″ (1.57m)
Body Type
Overweight
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a romantic idealist in search of a man who is interested in building a passionate, meaningful life with the right woman. You may be eligible if you:

are either widowed, completely divorced, or never married

live within 100 miles of Ferndale, Michigan, USA. (Yes, I'll even consider guys from Windsor, Ontario, Canada -- I have an enhanced driver's license and I'm not afraid to use it!)

do not smoke, even socially or occasionally

practice or are open to nontraditional religion(s)

support equal rights (for example, marriage) for LGBTQ persons

are expressive, articulate, kind, affectionate, playful, outgoing, and comfortable in most social settings and with all sorts of people

are either child-free, or have grown children out on their own

enjoy music (especially the home-brewed local kind), books, movies, live shows, travel, and community happenings

I am by no means an aspiring Olympic athlete, but I'm trying to fit more exercise into my life. A walking (and hopefully, in time, running!) buddy would be a great bonus.

The right man will be the one who has my back no matter what the situation. (By that I don't mean that he will enable me if I'm dead wrong about something!) This person will find me to be likewise supportive of him. I can be extremely generous to others with my time and energy. Having a mate who reminds me to take care of myself, gives me positive incentive to scale back and enjoy time with him, and can share some of the load of everyday life would be a wonderful gift!
What I’m doing with my life
I have a steady day job, but play music and write songs in my "spare" time (I have two CDs out). I'm involved with several groups related to my spiritual practice (don't worry, we don't proselytize!) These activities feed my soul and I've made many good friends in the process; but the straight men I've met in these groups are pretty much all partnered up. That's where you (maybe) come in!
I’m really good at
harmonizing with other singers. I play guitar well enough to accompany myself and provide rhythmic back-up in ensembles. I'm also a good writer -- not so much with fiction, but with writing songs and step-by-step instructions.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Some books I've enjoyed include "The Fifth Sacred Thing", by Starhawk; "Women Who Run With the Wolves" by Clarissa Pinkola-Estes; "Strange Days : My Life With and Without Jim Morrison", by Patricia Kennealy-Morrison; "Eat, Pray, Love", by Elizabeth Gilbert; Jean Auel's "Earth's Children" series; and "God Is Not One: The Eight Rival Religions That Run the World--And Why Their Differences Matter" by Stephen Prothero.

In general, I enjoy movies with these kinds of themes: musicians/bands; science fiction (especially time travel); counter-culture; and environmental/social justice. Horror movies of the blood-and-guts variety completely turn me off.

I was a big fan of the series "Dracula" (starring Jonathan Rhys Meyers -- I'm hoping for a second season!) and am currently keeping up with "Reign" (loosely based on the life of Mary, Queen of Scots). A new favorite show is "Cosmos" with Neil deGrasse Tyson. Other than that, I'll wind down late in the evening with whatever comedies are broadcasting on commercial television (I'm one of those folks who has a converter box and antenna instead of cable TV, Roku device, etc.)

I especially like music from the 60s and 70s, although I also enjoy some of the current stuff. In terms of general styles, I prefer rock, folk, and some country music.

Cheese is one food I could never give up. In terms of cultural cuisine, I'm open to pretty much anything. (Although if it involves eating bugs or something similar, you may want to postpone telling me what was in that great dish from last night until a couple of days later ....)
The six things I could never do without
are my glasses, my guitar, my laptop, my cell phone, coffee, and the summer season. (I don't consider my family, friends, and two cats to be "things". 8-) )
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how I could simplify my life -- live comfortably while leaving less of a carbon footprint, and focusing on the things that matter (which aren't actually things).
On a typical Friday night I am
out having fun with good friends or (if I have no such plans) catching up on chores and reading at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
is that, unlike the stereotypical woman, I crave salty snacks much more than I do sweets (even chocolate). Potato chips and dip don't last long in my house (which is why I avoid buying them!).
I’m looking for
  • Straight guys only
  • Ages 40–58
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you are self-sufficient; a little left of center politically; responsible but young in spirit; are open to new ideas; and believe that the best years of your life are yet to come! Preference is given to those who include a photo of themselves and whose profiles are completely filled out. (It's fine if you don't want to broadcast your income, though.)

I noticed that OKCupid has a new feature in "My Details", where one can indicate one's preferred relationship type as mainly or strictly monogamous, or as mainly or strictly non-monogamous. I picked "strictly monogamous"; but I want to make it clear that this is a status which I will assume once I'm serious about someone. Until that happens, I do plan to date more than one person at a time (which I probably should have done in my high school and college years to broaden my perspective!).