Decultured
36 Kansas City, MO
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Decultured
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have a deep sense of wonder about life, the universe, and everything. I love exploring all that life has to offer, trying new things, visiting new places, meeting new people, and learning about everything around me. There are so many amazing things to see and do in this life, and I want to experience as much of it as I can! I am hoping I can find someone here who can share in all sorts of adventures with me.

I have always had a bond with technology, and started programming when I was very young. I am not the type of person who needs to own every new technology out there, but I do love to follow all of the new advances.

I am a huge nerd/geek. I love nerd culture, especially gaming (board, video, and tabletop), comics, science fiction, fantasy, anime, and tech. I love going to conventions and events, and have been a member of board gaming groups and various other nerdy clubs in the city. I almost always go to the Renaissance festival, and am considering going in costume next year.

I love art and creativity, and visiting museums and galleries is a favorite pastime. I appreciate everything from renaissance realism to dada to abstract expressionism to art deco. I absolutely love musical theatre and would love to take an extended trip to New York and see a different show every night. I love finding new music and going to concerts. I enjoy open mic nights and poetry slams. I enjoy going to operas, the symphony, and ballet. Basically any excuse to get out of the house and enjoy an event with a friend or loved one is fun for me.

I'm Transgender, and have lived full-time as female since September 2015. Transitioning has been a challenging but incredible experience. I spent much of my life dealing with depression largely caused by suppressing this part of me, but now, finally, I feel happy and optimistic for the future.

I am also pansexual, which means I am interested more in who you are than your gender, age, weight, or other physical attributes. I believe as long as two people are compatible psychologically, there are always fun things that can be figured out on the physical side of a relationship!
What I’m doing with my life
I recently made the decision to have a go at following my dreams and doing what I want with my life. So far, it is going well!

I write software for a living, and sometimes for fun. It's an exciting job that allows me to innovate and create new things every day!

I also love to make things to let out my creative side. I am excited about the advances in home manufacturing, and own a 3D printer, a CNC machine, and a bevy of tools for woodworking, sewing, crafting, electronics, casting and metalworking. I sometimes spend more time learning how to make things than actually creating them!
I’m really good at
I love to cook, and like most things in my life, I love to experiment and try new things. Some ideas work, some are amazing, and some are hideously awful, but I am always learning from them. Recently I have been experimenting with modernist cooking, which combines the creative side of cooking with a highly scientific understanding of the chemical and physical processes that can make food great. It's like a delicious form of a home chemistry set!

I am great at learning new things which matches well with my never-ending curiosity. I have an endless curiosity, and always excited to discover and explore something I haven't seen before.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
For books, movies and TV, I enjoy comedy, adventure, speculative sci-fi, and anything related to travel and culture. I am a big fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, the new Star Wars, X-Men and Game of Thrones. I also love art films and creative cult films that fly under the radar of the bigger box office films.

For food, I love everything interesting. Food has long been a passion of mine that I picked up from my father who had a culinary streak.
I am the type of person who always orders the most unusual thing on a menu, and who loves to try all the new restaurants in town. I enjoy everything from fine dining to greasy spoons, but most especially experimental concept restaurants.

Musically, I am eclectic and have enjoyed everything from metal to rap to classical spanish guitar. Mostly though, I listen to pop, indie rock, folksy stuff, hip-hop and edm. If I am on a long drive alone, I prefer audio books.
The six things I could never do without
The internet. A sense of wonder and curiosity. Challenging projects to work on. Interesting people to talk to. New things to learn. Maybe you?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I'm a dreamer and a optimistic futurist, and love thinking about the discoveries and advancements that might be coming in my lifetime.
You should message me if
If you want to chat!
More