Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

DerBenigen

36 M Somerville, MA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 14
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English, C++ (Okay), Polish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Long-time Somervillain of the techie variety, though also sporting a law degree. I am pro good food, cocktails, beer, and wine, and enjoy going to places that provide such things (I'm told I mix a good drink for a civilian too). I like to stay active, and enjoy indoor rock climbing and running (just completed my first half marathon!). I am always up for hitting the MFA for an interesting new exhibit or going to see live music. I can also be convinced rather easily to hit up a swing, blues, or salsa dance lesson (I reserve the right to be coy about it b/c I don't consider myself especially good, but I enjoy them all nonetheless). Last but not least, a co-worker recently told me I'm "pretty hip for a white guy."
What I’m doing with my life
My day job is in the field of IT consulting/programming. I also have a law degree, but only use it towards pro bono work right now (though I have some ambitions to change that in the future). In the consulting field, I've had the good fortune (and sometimes bad fortune) of having traveled for work quite a bit. I've racked up a few travel stories and a taste for obscure European foods/drinks. Beyond that, I spend my days working, playing, and occasionally flipping through 19th Century cocktail books.

In addition to all this, I'm a relatively new homeowner so I am also learning to watch HGTV and developing opinions about things like curtains and bathroom renovations. Also, I'm practicing my curmudgeon voice so I can tell the kids to get off my lawn.
I’m really good at
mixing drinks; problem solving; I've also been told I write well (okcupid profile notwithstanding). Oh, and apparently I radiate body heat very well if that's a selling point.
The first things people usually notice about me
If you stare at me really hard you can see the sailboat.
Other than that, one friend of mine once told me she thought I looked a bit like Sting (I don't see it). If this is too tame for you, my gay former roommate also persists in telling me he thinks I have a great ass (true story).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Great Gatsby; Dune; The Fine Art of Mixing Drinks; Neuromancer; Free Culture; most Jim Butcher books. Most recently reading and enjoying some Mary Roach books.

Movies: The Princess Bride; Clue; History of the World, Part I; Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas; Boondock Saints; LOTR; Army of Darkness; Shawn of the Dead; Wes Andersen movies; original Star Wars; Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels; Batman Begins; Marx Brothers movies.

Shows: Archer; Doctor Who; Sherlock; Futurama; South Park; Daily Show; Colbert Report; Mythbusters; True Blood; Game of Thrones; Top Gear; Joss Whedon shows.

Music: lots, but off the top of my head, Gaslight Anthem; Horrible Crows; Nirvana; Foo Fighters; My Chemical Romance; Billy Joel; Miles Davis; Tool; Ray Charles; 80s hair metal when I'm in the mood. My tastes have a rock leaning, but are otherwise eclectic except very little rap, modern R&B, or country (except Johnny Cash, who rules). Lately, I've been on a bit of a blues and soul music kick (lots of Etta James & Sam Cooke), with some Florence and the Machine, Bat for Lashes, and other stuff mixed in. Just discovered Lake Street Dive and am a giant fan now.

Food: Indian; Thai; Malaysian; Italian (especially cuisine and wine from the Piemonte region if it can be found); seafood; a really good burger. I LOVE spicy food. I prefer Italian wine to French, but authentic French pastries are best in show.
The six things I could never do without
friends & family; good food; humor; computer; ipod; giant puffy comforter
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Can't sleep or clowns will eat me...
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends, grabbing dinner or a drink somewhere, or in some cases where the week has gotten the better of me, falling asleep in front of something playing on my DVR.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I think CNN anchor Erin Burnett is a hottie.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 28–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You appreciate a man that can make a mean Pisco Sour. You know what a Pisco Sour is. You want to know what a Pisco Sour is. You want to meet someone new. You want to help me improve my Blues, Swing, or Salsa dancing. You find red haired men irresistible. You simply want to flirt shamelessly for whatever reason (could always use more of this in life).

Oh, and if you want to go see local roller derby. I keep wanting to go and it never seems to work out.

Or, if you want to go with me to see the new Muppet movie. 'Cause...Muppets.