Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Dinesen

37 F Brooklyn, NY

I’m looking for

  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 30–45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Aug 26
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Education
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Art is my main religion, although I also practice Christianity and learn a lot from the Buddhists about how to be more sane. I tend to plan my vacations around the art I'll get to see. I love musicals, some operas, and paintings, especially from the first half of the 20th century. I love church, mass, temple, what have you. I went Episcopalian because we're crazy liberal, and I get to cross myself and use some saints. Also, there isn't that pesky pope lingering about.

I hope it's hard to offend me, I have worked on that over the years. I think if you can't laugh about money and death and religion, what can you laugh at?

I can be comfortable just about anywhere with just about anyone. Eating alone in the food court in Doha. Taking the Roman subway. Iffy neighborhoods. Small towns. I've even made peace with the boring suburb from whence I came. I love to explore, and I love to soak up material for writing, wherever I am.

I like to figure out why different pieces of art work, or don't work. I love DVD commentary tracks. Although I've written a little art criticism, I don't want to be a critic because I prefer to keep my mouth shut when I don't have anything helpful to say. And I know how hard it is to make stuff. I don't ever want to make it harder for someone else.

I'd like to share creative work with someone-- collaboratively or just cheering each other on. I like to make stuff. That's how humans keep their chins up. I'm always writing, and sometimes making costumes, painting, creating curriculum, or making some other kind of mess. I have lots of stuff in the hopper.

I'm very conservative in some ways, and very liberal in others. Conservative about how kids should be treated, conservative about loving ritual and tradition, believing in classic literature and art and practice and respect for elders and investment in family, but very liberal politically, and open about what other people do and how they see the world and what might work for them, as long as it doesn't hurt anyone else. And I have no opinion about other people's spiritual lives (or lack of them). It's hard for me to imagine being involved with someone who's not into religious stuff, though, since it's such an interest of mine.

I'm an introvert. In a romantic relationship, I work well with an extrovert. I handle the small parties and old, close friends, and extrovert handles the big parties and acquaintances. I keep extrovert feet on the ground, and extrovert suggests to me that just because I haven't known someone for ten years, it doesn't mean I shouldn't get to know them.

My favorite places in the world are Lawrence, Kansas, New York City, Disney World, and New Orleans. Still on my travel wish list I have Kenya, Istanbul, Egypt, and Vienna. When visiting Africa, I'd like to do a little do gooder work as part of my trip. I've made some trips to Mexico like that and had some of the best times of my life. I've traveled alone a lot in the past, but lately I prefer to have a buddy, so it's not so exhausting.

I love my job-- teaching high school to inner city kids. I learn as much from them as they do from me. I'm very proud that I have been teaching for nine years. Most people don't make it that far. I love my coworkers, and I love that I am part of the school. It's a marathon every year, but I sleep well knowing if I get hit by a bus, I will know I used my life well.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Writing, sending out work, teaching high school kids and alternately loving them and having them drive me crazy, reading, meditating, watching documentaries and TV shows, talking politics and religion and art with my friends and family, traveling whenever, wherever I can, seeing art, going to the theater now and then, singing along at the piano bar.

Teaching and studying writing.

Learning from the people who drive me crazy (ideally).

Sleeping in. Drinking coffee and tipping my barista.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Accepting people, especially creative people, and talking them through the neurotic and scary art-making process. Editing and working with other writers. Writing nonfiction. I also write fiction, but that is much harder.

Sipping scotch. Dancing like I don't care what anyone thinks. Analyzing/overanalyzing. Laughing at things that otherwise would be horrible.

Moving things that are heavy, even though I am a skinny thing.

My students are shocked that I always keep my cool even when they're really acting up. I am very deliberate and predictable in disciplining them, and I rarely get my ego invested in their behavior.

I'm good at being comfortable where I am and learning from what happens. Living well on not much money. Raving about my love for FDR, while keeping my Republican friends. Finding cheap, safe, beautiful hotels all over the world.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I walk fast. That my footsteps are loud. That I eat plenty but I am still skinny. I don't know why my ancestors survived.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Shakespeare and the Bible, Natalie Goldberg, Annie Dillard, Madeleine L'Engle, Kathleen Norris, Anne Lamott, John Irving, Vendela Vida, Vonnegut. I've read most of The Classics, and liked most of them.

A representative sample: The Beatles, Stevie Wonder, Cee Lo Green, Radiohead, Mozart operas.

I love pasta, red wine, good bread, and good coffee. I like all the ethnic foods I can think of... except Japanese.

I'm a vegetarian, but I'm not an asshole about it. It's my choice (for ethical reasons), and I make it work.

30 Rock. Arrested Development. West Wing. The Wire. Mad Men.

Out of Africa. Back to the Future. The Jerk. Peter Pan. Moonstruck.

Into the Woods. South Pacific. The Tempest. The Magic Flute.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Books, furry pets, trees, churches, art museums, chocolate. I'd prefer not to go without red wine, either.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Education, writing, art, painting, American history, medicine, memoirs, religion, ethics, language, culture, travel, politics, race, class, stories, and, lest I become too heady: what am I going to wear?
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At happy hour with fellow teachers, laughing away the annoyances of the week, visiting art galleries, eating and/or drinking with friends and doing some A plus bantering. One or two glasses of wine. If my students drove me really crazy, I'm watching TV and falling asleep very unglamorously.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I had a panic attack on an airplane about a year ago, which was a huge surprise because I thought I was a very calm person, and I've always loved to fly. I've been on many flights since. So I think my brain may have gotten over it. It's made me more compassionate. And I like to talk about it, since people often feel relieved and share their own story of something that embarrasses them, and we all feel more relaxed.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You might in any way remind me of Elvis Costello or Josh from "West Wing."